How to | Long and strong nails

in #life7 years ago

Sup Cutiecats!


   Okay so first of all, I would like to say that all these things I do to make my nails stronger aren't like professional tips or advice, they're just stuff that I do and for me they seem to work pretty damn well so I wanted to share them with you 😊

   With that out of the way, I have a bunch of friends who always tell me "I can't grow out my nails, they just don't grow, so I can never paint them or make them cute." I started thinking, what do I do so my nails aren't all stubby and short? So I decided to make a post out of it and see if my stuff works with you as well 😉 

   Let's get started.

1. DO NOT CUT YOUR NAILS. EVER. 


   This is (for me) the most most most important one of all. You can do this and not do the other tips, but if you do the other ones without this one, you're not doing much. What I mean by this is that you shouldn't use the nail clippers to cut your nails, use a nail file. Even if one nail is very short cuz it broke, and the rest are long so you'll have to trim them all down to not look ridiculous, do it with a nail file. I don't know why this works so much, I just know that every time I am lazy and cut my nails instead of filing them, they grow all weak and break a lot, it's really hard to make them grow and it takes ages. When I just file them every time I paint them, they stay strong and almost don't break at all. And please...don't bite them.

TIP: File the corners of your nails a bit rounded, that way they aren't too sharp and you avoid them snagging on your clothes or scratching yourself. My corners always find a way to break off when I don't do this.


2. Always paint them


   First, if you always have nail polish on, you don't have the urge to bite them as much because a) you don't want to ruin your hard work after taking the trouble to pain them, or b) you really don't want to eat nail polish...like a normal human being. Also, this step helps because it adds another coat to your nails, making them harder to break. If you're too lazy or you're worried you'll make a mess if you paint them, just add like 2 or 3 coats of clear nail polish and you're done, all the extra strength and no messy color. 


3. Use a square spongy nail file


   I don't really know what these are called (sorry) but they work really well. It is a file but with extra fine grains. I use this to file over my nail. I think it's normally used to make the nails whiter and take off that yellow stain that usually comes with painting your nails with very dark colours for too long. The thing is, I've realized that if I do this twice a month more or less, my nails stay healthier and they just become stronger bit by bit. You don't have to do it every time you paint your nails, also just slightly file each one a few times, otherwise you will just end up weakening them.  


4. Push your cuticle backwards


   You also don't have to do this every time you paint your nails. I've realised that when I push my cuticle back, they seem to grow really fast. You can do it with a tool like I do on the picture, or just as easily with your thumb nail. Don't go overboard though, it's just a bit, to help your nails grow. 

.

.

.

Well I hope these tips helped. If you have other suggestions or anything else you want to say just leave a comment and I'll be happy to reply 😊 Good luck with your newly strong nails and see you later!

xoxo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48