Give me some good books to read!

in #life7 years ago

IMG_20180317_170543.jpg

I'm on the hunt for some new series to sink my teeth into. I'm a very big fantasy fan and am looking for some suggestions on what to dive into. Right now I'm reading Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson. He is one of my favorite authors and his Stormlight Archives series is gearing up to be one of the great all time fantasy series. Some of my other favorites are The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss (did you know he actually streams on twicth sometimes) and of course I have to go as generic as possible and say George R.R. Martin's Song of Fire and Ice series.

I generally lean more towards dark fantasy and wouldn't mind discovering more current authors. I really like having a book to look forward to when it gets released and love discovering new authors.

So what you got? Give me some book suggestions!

Sort:  

never heard of this one, I will check it out!

I really enjoyed "the mind parasites" by Colin Wilson. I also love anything by John Wydenham.

My son really loved the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. I read these along with him and they are very interesting. He also has more books that he has written beside the series.

i like to read autobiographies. i'm currently reading wolf of wall street. its slightly different from the movie version starring leonardo di caprio.

wow, seeing this i love to develop a wholesome reading habit, can you tell how to do that?

Terry Brooks original Shannara trilogy and his Genesis of Shannara trilogy are both really good. His other stuff that I've read is so-so

I always say Brandon Sanderson, but you already mentioned him :D

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

The Inheritance series by Christopher Paolini

One of my friends is crazy about the Shannara series, my only exposure to it is a bit of the TV series that I watched.

Don't judge it based on that. I've only looked at the synopsis of the TV series, but that was enough to tell me it was totally different :P

Hi, I also love fantasy, and Brandon Sanderson, he is probably the best writer right now!
I have a lot of books that I've read to recommend, and some have written on my blog, look maybe you like something!
You should try Steven Erikson, he is also fantastic!
Keep reading and enjoy in books! :)

I think of in book for if the Malazan series, I just keep forgetting to finish the damn thing.

The Cruel Prince is one I did a book review on and would recommend! It's the first in a series though so expect a cliffhanger. :)

It looks like you are still active so excuse me for this being a bit late but I would definitely go with the first law trilogy by Joe Abercrombie. There is the original trilogy and 3 stand alone follow ups, would fall into the more grim fantasy genre that you seem to be looking for.

Other personal favorites for fantasy series would be- The Farseer trilogy by Robin Hobb, there are a bunch of follow up trilogies to it but that is the first.

-Broken Empire trilogy by Mark Lawrence

-a 2nd nomination for Malazan but thats a big series to tackle.

-If you want something a little more sci-fi/YA you could try Red Rising by Pierce Brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60526.03
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54