Acceptance

in #life7 years ago

Let's keep it all the way real. Love is acceptance.

I was lucky to grow up in a household full of people that practiced this daily without struggle.

It was just the way they were. There was never a time that I did not feel loved or accepted. This does not mean that I was perfect. Of course not. What I am saying is when I made mistakes, when I screwed up, when I didn't listen I was reprimanded but in doing so, no one ever made it about them. My parents and grandparents raised me in a pretty progressive way.

See, parents are just people.

They aren't perfect either. They have hang-ups and issues like everyone else and sometimes those things come spilling out in the way they parent their children. Some folks experience a lot of shame and hurt because their parents judged them or dismissed them based on their own expectations. Unfortunately, people can be broken like that.

My mom was the epitome of unconditional love.

She always said what she felt she needed to say to me to guide me and she could really tell me about myself when she saw me about to do something extra stupid! Thank goodness! Ha! She accepted me just as I am though. She allowed me the freedom to evolve, expand and to choose. She let me grow into my own person without filters or judgement. She encouraged that growth and help cultivate it. Total acceptance.

That is what love is.

Allowing someone to be who they are without expecting them to change. To recognize yourself in someone else. I think we often miss our blessing when we don't recognize what special people bring to the table because it does not look the way we think it should. It does not fit into society's definition. You have to look past all of that. We are human beings, not carbon copies of some generated list or manufactured guide. We are souls with past experiences, thoughts and ideas. If we take the time to be present and realize the gifts that someone brings to us and appreciate them, then we can be fulfilled. It's accepting what is and seeing it for how important it is.

I am thankful for having such an upbringing.

When I was younger, I didn't even realize how special it was. It started to make so much sense to me once I entered adulthood. You don't need to search for love at all, you just have to create space for it to enter. Acceptance.

Steemit1.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent article cjzachary! You were lucky to have that kind of love around you growing up. I think for those who don't it's so much harder to make the space for love that you talk about. If you've never experienced it you can never know what love is, or confuse it with other things. Hopefully as the world turns more and more people will experience that acceptance and be able to let love shine. :)

Thank you so much! That is such an excellent point! If you have never experienced it, you will not even recognize it, let alone open yourself up to receiving it. I think if folks just relaxed and let their higher consciousness take over instead of their egos, the world would be a much calmer place. It is easier said than done though. It's a daily practice. No one is perfect with it.

Yeah I'd definitely agree that it's easier said than done. We're conditioned to 'play to win', 'aim to be No.1' and always try to be 'top dog'. All of which foster the ego being in control. If we could all relax and not be so focused on 'winning' we'd make the world, as you said, a much calmer place. :)

Great perspective!

Hello are you new here?

Not really. Started in July.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74