ORGANIC FARMING JOURNEY #17: THIS MORNING I SAW THE HORDE OF GOATS THAT WASTED MY GARDEN. AND THEY'RE ON MY EGGPLANTS!

in #life7 years ago

These are the culprits that devastated my tomato crop and they act like nothing happened! LOL!

Animals Are Animals


IMG_20170914_093005.jpg

I know, I know. They're just animals. But they're on my eggplants now! They're trying to escape from my wrath (hahaha) squeezing through the small bamboo gate that's supposed to keep them out from my garden. The eggplant plantation is covered with tall grasses and weeds and this is what the goats are attracted to.

Rain, rain, and more rain.


It's been raining for days due to a storm and ITCZ (inter-tropical convergence zone). It's amazing how these grasses grow so fast, but so do my eggplants. The eggplants are also organically fertilized and we hope to get good harvest from them plants. So far, the eggplants look amazing.

IMG_20170914_093127 (2).jpg

A Decision We Regret


I and my friends decided not to use mulching for this project but obviously it is not a good idea. Weeds just grow crazy and we just can't seem to catch up weeding them out, especially when there is actually no time to do the weeding. So, to make things easier for us, we decided to do a "late mulching" activity on the plants. Very unconventional and inefficient, you might say. And I would totally agree with you. But that seems to be the best thing to do as of this time. And here is the result of that decision:

IMG_20170914_110415 (2).jpg

I'd say we just might pull this off ;-)

The Flowering Stage


I see quite a few eggplants showing some flowers already. This is great news. In 4 weeks time, we should be able to harvest, if we're lucky not to be savaged by those pesky goats. And the cow! Don't forget the cow.

IMG_20170914_110534 (2).jpg

Despite the Disaster...


The goats, the cow. Who can blame them. It's our responsibility as farmers, to protect our crop from these animals who are innocently trampling and treading on our beloved plants. Because after all the devastation, there is the consolation of good harvest.

IMG_20170914_114958 (2).jpg

Organically grown, these tomatoes are healthy, safe to eat, and fresh from the farm. All the goodness and nutrients are basically available in these yummy, juicy fruit. My clientele are the kind of people that are health conscious, vegans/vegetarians, and senior citizens who love their life so much they want to prolong it.

Up and Coming Project


Here on this bushy place will be my new tomato garden. The land is about 1200 sqm and the soil is so good I might need little fertilization. I'm looking at 1,000+ plants here. With my present experience, I should be able to do better with this one. The place is protected by concrete walls so it's safe from my friends the goats and the cow.

IMG_20170906_095504.jpg

As far as fertilization goes, I will use the same organic inputs as I have used with the tomatoes and eggplants. And my quail dung just arrived yesterday. They smell okay but I can't let them sit in my office for long. Besides, an office full of dung does not appeal too much to clients ;-)

IMG_20170914_115110 (2).jpg

Documentation of My Progress


I'll make sure my followers will see the progress of this new project from start to finish, from planting to harvest, and everything in-between.

So follow @cjclaro and let's journey together, for better or for worse, through thick and thin. You might just learn something ;-)

Sort:  

@cjclaro Great post!!!!!

No es fácil cuando vacas y cabras, destrozan tu trabajo, pero tu buena actitud, hará que tu futuro como agricultor sea mucho mejor cada día.
¿Usas imgur.com para editar tus fotos?

Our attitude play a vital role in our journey to success and I try to keep the right attitude everytime. As for my photos, I use Windows 10 Photos app to edit them.

Really interesting to know that you are going to have yields from your eggplants.

let's see in a few weeks what happens ;-)

jajaja... asi es, las vacas son vaca jaja... no tienen culpa amigo@cjclaro. Estaré pendiente de tu nuevo proyecto.

thanks for following my work @zulma ;-)

Seguramente debes hacer algo para que los animales no dañen tu siembra y los frutos de tu cosecha. Al menos, ries ante el desastre :)

We are working on a stronger fence. Hope the animals don't get stronger than our fence ;-)

If we can laugh our problems away, then there will be no problems at all ;-)

Hello , @cjclaro , i upvote you .. please upvote me ..!!!

thanks for your upvote @rakibulce. I wish you could say more than just saying Hello ;-)

Jajaja. He needs a post about:
How to be a good curator? or
How to make a good comments?

I guess he needs those, too ;-)

Thanks for sharing ,

Upvoted !

By the way ,I started following you and I would appreciate your follow back too .
please visit my blog and vote me too

I checked your blog and I think you have some great stuff there. Followed you back!

Do you enjoy farming? Or is it just a hobby?

It's a hobby I just started that I enjoy. Plus there are other hidden agenda here ;-)

I have a friend who makes money on farming. This is a good start. :)

What is the hidden agenda you mean? Perhaps I was not attentive. ((

The hidden agenda is my company business. We import nanotechnology plant food supplement and we are selling it through my company. I use this product on all my crops in my farm. Not really a conspiracy theory material ;-)

Sounds wonderful. Good luck with your business!

Thank you. And you have a great day!

Thank you ;-)

can I atleast have some tomatoes???? please?? yum yum! my daughter's favorite SNACK!

wouldn't it be nice if we can send it digitally? :-D and it is yummy alright. mouthwatering. ;-)

"The place is protected by concrete walls so it's safe from my friends the goats and the cow." That's great to know. Eagerly waiting for the results.

Will be posting as soon as the project starts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78