ORGANIC FARMING JOURNEY #11: GROWING TOMATO PLANT FROM SUCKERS (WHAT ARE SUCKERS, ANYWAYS?)

in #life7 years ago

Growing tomato superplant can be hard for some especially when they are just starting out. You can grow a tomato plant by (1) starting out with seeds that you can buy from your favorite garden store or agriculture shops, or (2) by replanting suckers you pluck from the tomato plant itself. The image below shows what is a sucker and where it can be found.


PHOTO SOURCE: CHICAGONOW.COM

SUCKERS -- WHEN TO PLUCK THEM OUT


As you can see above, a sucker is a new branch sticking out between the stem and a branch of a tomato plant. These suckers are removed when a tomato plant is said to be "indeterminate", which means that it grows as a vine and can grow as tall as 10 feet.

However, suckers are left alone to grow as a new branch when the tomato plant is said to be "determinate", which means that the tomato plant is "bush" type and does not grow taller than, maybe, 5 feet. Suckers become new branches that can hold more blossoms and fruits for the tomato plants.

HOW TO REPLANT SUCKERS


I grow a "deteminate" type of tomato plants so I don't remove suckers. However, due to late installation of trellis, my tomato plants laid on the ground and started growing new branches, or suckers. When the trellis was finally installed, I had to string them and I was forced to remove some of the suckers. I didn't want to throw them away so I decided to replant them.

First,

you need to soak the suckers in a cup or glass of water, preferably non-chlorinated water. In my case, I use the leftover of my organic foliar fertilizer as my soaking medium. Let it stay in the water between 7 and 10 days or until you roots developed.

IMG_20170813_144720.jpg

Here, roots have developed after a week or so...

IMG_20170821_160903.jpg

...ready to be replanted.

IMG_20170821_162249.jpg

And... Voila!


IMG_20170821_162400.jpg

Growing your superfood doesn't have to be that hard. Try this out and share your experience with us.

Come, follow me @cjclaro and see the progress of these guys!

Sort:  

Replies and comments to this post will receive 50% upvote from my voting power. If you're looking for rewards, please comment and upvote whenever you feel like it. Cheers!

Organic Farming is the future of the world. Appreciate you sharing your journey with all of us.

Always a pleasure sharing some good things to others. Thanks for your support to this post. Please accept my humble appreciation... an upvote on your reply.

Hey,bro. You're an excellent teacher. I learn a lot of your post. Blessed

Well, thank you @oneray. Im glad I could impart some knowledge with you. Cheers!

@cjclaro Good Work!!!!!

It is a new knowledge for me. Wow, great work Sir. I wish you all the success. upvoted and Resteemed.

Im happy you gained new knowledge ;-) I was pretty excited to try this out when I learned about this.

Impressive work.

Excelentes consejos. Y lo mas bonito de la naturaleza, es cuando comienzan a dar sus frutos. Me encanta este post :)

Thank you, @zulma. I can't wait to taste the fruits of these plants. ;-)

The thing is i know almost everything is here except the perfect time to pluck the suckers. But here i got that idea too. thanks for the post which is really helpful for me.

Glad I could bring such info to your attention, @thirdeye7. thanks for the upvote and reply. appreciate the effort. Cheers!

yeah, thanks for the helping hand buddy. keep sharing such effective knowledge with us.

Always a pleasure to share ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59139.79
ETH 2511.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41