You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Falling lives

in #life7 years ago

You are very evolved. Glad I'm following you.

A couple of years ago I realized that my father had been dead longer than he was alive. My sisters and I and much of what they have are like the ripples in the pond of his existence. His flesh is gone but his legacy remains. This too shall pass, but I've contemplated how far my own ripples will extend after my departure, his ripples by extension. It matters not a whit, but it is an interesting and entertaining mental adventure. Thank you for the reminder.

Sort:  

This reminded me if something I wrote a couple of weeks ago:

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@tarazkp/an-unknown-ripple

Yes... I may write too much.

Are these ripples our legacy of life or our mark on eternity?

They are both, of course.

We cannot walk through a field of wildflowers without crushing a few. While it is good to contemplate our rippling of the world while we are in it, we should not let it paralyze us, prevent us from following our heart or that beat of the different drummer. There will always be unintended consequences. That's just how life is. As long as we move through life consciously, doing as much "good" and as little "harm" as we can we are doing exactly what were are here to do. The fact that good and evil are judgements means that some of the good we do will cause harm and some of the mistakes we make will bear good fruit. That's the paradox of life and why we should just keep moving forward and not fret too much about the ripples. IMHO

Another good post @Tarazkp!

Yes, the paralysis is a fear of making the wrong move, caring how we will be seen , what we may lose, the harm we may do or the costs we may pay. Better to stand still and watch the pool stagnate.

Splash around and have fun I think.

Yes, the splashing is what oxygenates the stagnant water and brings it to life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59