You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We All Come Complete With One True Note We Are Destined To Sing

in #life7 years ago

So true. That is a very moving painting. I'm glad you are letting your daughter explore all of her options. That's a wonderful thing for a parent to do.

Be prepared, though. It may not work out the way you might envision. I was given almost no direction in my life. I had music lessons and all that stuff, but none of it turned me on. I always wanted to write, but I was never encouraged in that direction. So I did a little of this and a little of that looking for that one thing that was my passion. It turns out that all that exploring was just a process of elimination. I discovered a whole bunch of things I don't want to do. I gained lots of eclectic skills that have served me well, but it wasn't until I finally gave up trying that I finally found the things I love to do. I'm an avid gardener, but it's hard to make a living doing that. I did a variety of landscaping jobs but wasn't satisfied doing what the homeowners wanted me to do. Their values were often at odds with my own. But I found that simple pruning was something I really enjoyed, and because I enjoyed it I got good at it. Now I have a small underground pruning business. I charge $40/hr to turn a rampant tree into something of beauty. It's a tree service that is in service to the tree, not the homeowner, per se, though they always love what I do. I could work a lot more, but being the slacker that I am, I prefer to only work about 4 hours, 2 to 3 hours a week. It forces me to live a simple life, which I also enjoy.

And now, I also write. So far I could never make a living on Steemit, though I do put in quite a few hours on this laptop. But this is also a labor of love, and so if you Steemians like what I write about and like my style of writing, perhaps this too will put a bit of food on the table (stuff I can't grow myself, that is). But that's just the frosting on the cake. I'm having a blast and enjoying this new-found community. Thank you Steemians. Resteeming this post.

Sort:  

I agree and thank you for your support! I hope your love of writing ends up also being an aide to your financial well being! My thoughts are you should attempt what you are interested in and passionate about first and then go from there. Money alone will absolutely not make you happy and I believe starting from a solely financial stand point is a sure way to enjoy a life of misery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47