UNLEASHING YOU

in #life7 years ago (edited)

we are not black or white so she said , , we are all humans , people who would not be defined by colour, race.
What defines a man is not his looks, tribe or race. What defines a man is not his society or his family, your opinion of me is what you perceive of the acts you see. What of the acts you don't?
What of that which no man sees but constantly​ keeps me up at night?...
If my looks, parent define who I would be, then I have been forced to accept a fate built by an outside factor and if I choose to accept it, then it becomes me. But if I work to build me while no one is watching, then I become the very me I have created.
I refuse to be a monster of someone's​ imagination. I don't want to live my life knowing that my journey would be filled with untapped vision, crude event, peice of reality, gabbage of fantasy. I want to be free and breath fulfillment but to what essence is life if dreams never come true.‪+234 818 427 9034‬ 20170719_232417.jpg

Sort:  

I am pleased to come across Nigerians here..)) @chukamozie did you mean "unleashing?"
Now to my opinion - Until we ourselves, "Africans" as defined by the part of the world where most of our ancestors occupied geographically, stop talking about race and accepting the definition that we're blacks, then the racial discrimination we so often dread will not decline. Some might call this opinion "color blindness," however We are the racist if we accept and define ourselves by our skin color, or geographic location. Until we begin to think of ourselves as humans without respect to skin color, we would not go beyond or rise above the hate that is embedded in racism. Be human, and admire yourself just the way you are.

Cool piece,@chukamozie.we blacks often get volatile and furious when any black gets racist remarks from white,its okay but the fact remain blacks also racially abuse themselves.Why will a black skinned bleach or tone the skin to become light or fair in complection?,its absolutely ridiculous,we should be proud of our skin color.Black is beauty,Black is golden,am proud to be an African.Post upvoted,hook me up @detycoon.All the best

Absolutely right....

I played basketball for too long in the hot run of the tropics and had a painful sunburn for 2 days that is increasing my risk of skin cancer every time it happens (and I am not even pure white as I have about 2% native American Cherokee).

Perhaps that is becoming less of an issue in the modern world where we have covered courts, but I love football and I do not want to play only at night under the lights, so even in the modern world we do not have covered grass fields. Sunblock lotion helps somewhat but I am not convinced it will prevent cancer entirely and it is inconvenient and smelly.

As for looks, all the looks are interesting and attractive in different ways. I think everyone should appreciate what they have and also what others have. It is a smorgasbord of diversity.

I think the white preference in society historically was because whites had more monetary wealth and technological advancement. However, African kids in Ethiopia are teaching themselves to program computers with no teachers.

There are a lot of cultural differences as well still. I grew up in New Orleans so many things the black culture enriched into our Creole culture, cuisine, and Jazz music (and dancing!). Red beans & rice with cornbread for example.

OTOH, the white culture was more studious I think and so I think whites wanted to protect their culture in terms of intermixing for offspring (of course this has changed significantly by now and now we have whites wanting to emulate black rappers, lol).

I realize that no stereotypes are accurate in all cases as well. I certainly would not imply that all people of color are rappers. Sheesh, I am not that myopic.

There are some statistical differences, but they are much less meaningful than the diverse range of experiences we can experience in individual interactions.

However, I must admit I am still somewhat ignorant as I have never had a really close relationship with someone of African descent. I hung out with a football teammate a few times only. So I guess my life adventure is still open to new possibilities.

Yeah enjoy your life and be happy. Pursue what is interesting to you. About getting furious, when I feel that I better apply that fury to sports/exercise, as it is a more positive and productive outlet. It is a shame all the violence and trouble that it gets people into. Better to take it out in competitive athletics, where of course the Africans excel because of the evolutionary physicality required of their ancestral environment.

There are differences, but they are interesting. The more friends the better, as long as we are not lying to each other about our differences and trying to pretend for example that women and men are the same. We are not and that is to be cherished (God help us if there were no more women).

Congratulations @chukamozie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice piece you got there @chukamozie. We will never become the best version of ourselves if we rely on people definition about us. The goal is to define who we are, be committed to our vision and remain fearless in accepting any change in our lives. Upvoted. Make sure you follow me @pascallawrence.

Cool truth... As simple as ABC...

Thought provoking

Great Piece indeed... positively determined to stand your vision. purpose oriented....

more insight!
make sure you follow me up any time @katejane

Thanks dear. I would sure do so

...you couldn't have said it any better

Yeah ....Thanks dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64356.37
ETH 3512.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54