You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHAT THE F IS ART??? Chapter One: Introduction

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I have bad opinions about contemporary art.

In the sense that now, everybody can play to do "art" (in the previous centuries, that was a real approach and effort to do such thing as art).
Now, it is also accessible as... writing an opinion on the Internet.
See where I want to go with "bad opinion" ?
For me, very very few things of contemporary art are art.

I think most of my critic is that contemporary art just transmits (at best) a prosaic message - and not a complex and/or meaningful message.

(Deep) sense is a fondamental criteria to judge if a painting is art, or just a random person telling a random "message" that could be entirely the same with 10 ou 20 words (sometimes with 3 words, as "Sun is bright" (waouh, sun is bright).

I'm not writing more for the moment, I'll follow what you'll say in the other chapters (among other reasons, because I'll sure learn some things - and thus, I don't want to tell too much stupidities or pretentious things).

(and that's not because I'm offended having had "5 out of 11 right") (in fact, absolutely no : I'm not offended at all) (unless you could make me change my mind with the following I'll read in the other chapters).

Sort:  

Hi, @christower! Thank you for your comment. Here's my humble reply:

That being said, I can't let you get away with it, lol. I'm going to ask you a few questions:

  • Which works of art aren't prosaic to you? Give me some examples so I can compare them to contemporary art the way you're seeing it! Some examples of "prosaic message art" will be useful too.
  • Why is art being accessible a bad thing?
  • What is art to you?

I agree, the conceptual part of the piece is very important. But I don't think there should be a limited list of subjects art can speak about. I think meaning and complexity can be found in everydayness (that's what philosophy is all about, in my opinion). And this isn't contradictory with art expressing deep ideas that are hard to put in words, because they reach every aspect of our lives and are, sometimes, recognizable in the most simple things. Like the idea of beauty in a simple flower.

I think that the fact that we're more connected than ever thanks to technology and globalization, and it seems we're surrounded by artists and aspiring artists... It's not effortless though. It never is. Unless of course your mom is a famous gallerist and sells anything you make or something like that.

Your results on the test are actually pretty good, haha. Half of the questions right? C'mon! I saw you read the second chapter, thanks! I'm glad your willing to continue on this journey with me, I hope I can change at least some of those bad opinions. Don't get me wrong tho, I'm not saying I like every work of contemporary art I see, I often think they're just not enough too. But I respect them based on my dislike being just an opinion, which is ok, but not everyone is going to share it and doesn't have to.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45