What do you do for a Living?

in #life6 years ago

People who ask strangers what they do for a living when starting a conversation should be exterminated from the gene pool.

I hate these people so much.

"What do you do for a living?" isn't even what they are asking. The real question they are asking is one, more, or all of the following:

Hi, what is your socio-economic status based on an outdated metric so I can determine wether or not I can gain anything by talking to you?

Hi, I'm a one-dimensional asshole who needs to put everyone in a neat little box. What box shall I put you in?

Hi, I'm an asshole who always talks about their job. In fact, I haven't had a conversation with another human being that wasn't about my job for over a decade. What I do is ask people about their job and then transition the conversation to my job. It's awesome.

Hi, I don't know how to start a conversation so I will use the most cliché conversation starter ever invented no matter how uncomfortable it makes you feel.

Hi, I'm boring and I talk boring.

Hi, I'm a single female with credit cards.

Asking people you don't know “what do you do for a living?” is rude, insensitive, and dumb. 

The people who ask this question are using an outdated and incorrect metric to make judgements on people they don't know. Judging someone based on their form of employment is a lazy and inaccurate way to get to know them.

By asking this question you presume that their form of employment has something to do with their level of intelligence, personality, status, and stores of resources.

Not everyone is their jobs and not everyone likes talking about their jobs.

Take my friend Charlie for example. Charlie works odd jobs, lives cheap, saves money, and travels every year to Nepal to climb mountains. Charlie is well read, has the most amazing stories of survival and hardships, and is one of the most interesting people I know.

If some asshole meets Charlie at a social event and asks him “what do you do for a living?” Charlie would respond “er, I make coffee at a cafe,” or “I carry bricks for brick people.” Actually, Charlie would just walk away saying nothing because he's a badass. However, my point is, a persons form of employment can, and usually does, have nothing to do with that persons personality.

Asking people what they do for a living can make them uncomfortable. Not everyone wants to talk about their job because not everyone is proud of their job. Some people are doing a job they have to do rather than a job they want to, or are capable of doing. By asking these people “what do you do for a living?” you end up making them feel like shit because you're an asshole that can't start a conversation.

Furthermore, NOT EVERYONE HAS A JOB. Some people are unemployed due to circumstances out of their control. The last thing these people want to do is explain their life story to a complete stranger in an awkward social setting.

Every time someone asks me “what do you do for a living?” my asshole clenches up so tight punching them in the face is the only way to relieve the tension. How are you supposed to tell one dimensional idiots “I bought Bitcoin when it was cheap and now I pretend to be a writer. Pretending to be a writer involves drinking copious amounts of coffee, chain smoking, and staring at a blank laptop screen occasionally adjusting the waistband on my boxer shorts–the only item of clothing I wear.”

I'm a socially retarded introvert, but even I know the mechanics of a good conversation. Allow me to teach you “what do you do for a living?” assholes how to have an interesting conversation and make people feel good.

Don't ask boring questions like an idiot. Make open ended statements and listen to the other persons response. When your conversation partner responds, they will give you the topics of conversation they want to talk about.

Take the following example:

You not being an asshole: “I saw this movie on the weekend and it was great.”

Your conversation partner: “I never have the time to see movies because I'm so busy with work.”

This is an invitation to inquire about your conversation partners job. Do not make any inquiries about the persons job unless they mention it first. By mentioning it they are signalling it's a topic of conversation they are ok talking about.

IF SOMEONE WANTS TO TALK ABOUT THIER JOB THEY WILL.

IF THEY DON'T THEY WON'T.

DON'T FORCE THEM

Take this other example:

You not being an asshole: “It was raining so hard on the weekend I got drenched.”

Your conversation partner: “I just got back from a holiday and it was raining the whole time I was away.”

You not being an asshole: “Instead of telling me about your job, how about you tell me about your holiday since that's obviously what you want to talk about.”

MAKE STATEMENTS AND LISTEN TO RESPONSES.

THEN...

PICK UP YOUR CONVERSATION PARTNERS THREAD AND TALK ABOUT THAT

DON'T SAY “WHAT DO YOU DO FOR A LIVING?

 This will make them feel comfortable, enjoy the conversation, and maybe even like you.

By doing this, you will be more effective connecting with people, be able to get to know people for who they really are, make more friends, and not be an asshole.

So, um, what do you do for a living?
 

Sort:  

Great stuff. This was a piece of pure gold :-

“I bought Bitcoin when it was cheap and now I pretend to be a writer. Pretending to be a writer involves drinking copious amounts of coffee, chain smoking, and staring at a blank laptop screen occasionally adjusting the waistband on my boxer shorts–the only item of clothing I wear.”

More than a few people resemble this remark.

My brother I loved this post , wishing I was a powerful voter to give you thousands ,,,,awesome !,,. I’m outta of work and going through a bitter split and lost pretty much everything .... this article made me smile ....Cheers bro

Thanks mate. Take care of yourself.

I like this Christosthegreek; I totally agree with you. Sometimes when I'm asked this question, I give one of my valid answers. When it's totally irrelevant to what we're discussing, I don't answer. Sometimes It's kinda rude the way people ask "So... what do you do for a living?"

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @christosthegreek to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

It seldom that anyone asks me much of anything about my life even though I spend quite a bit of time with other people.

Congratulations @christosthegreek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

brother I loved this post , wishing I was a powerful voter to give you thousands ,,,,awesome !,,. I’m outta of work and going through a bitter split and lost pretty much everything . Ok..

Congratulations @christosthegreek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I got asked this question on Sunday - er, what day is it today? Um? F*ck me, it's bin day, so it must be Tuesday. I answered the lady, "Er, nothing. I'm not working at the moment." LOL....The last place I went for a holiday, it rained every day. I loved it. I had the best conversations. You should try it. But it's best to go in summer, when the rain is warmer on the cobblestones, and check when the arts festival is on, and stay in Dominick Street Apartments :) Galway, in the west of Ireland...love your post....

Every single person I have ever spoken to that has been to Ireland speaks very highly of the place. I will have to visit there someday.

I hope you go there. 2020 is the year of Culture for European Union in Galway City - :)

Many, many years ago, I went to Cyprus on a holiday. Loved it, so I stayed.

What I am going to say next, is not what I experienced so much in town, but from people I would meet in villages (sta horia).

They don't ask what job you do; I don't think it crosses their mind that the answer could be of interest to them.

Nope. They go directly to the question they really want an answer for: How much do you earn?

I told a Cypriot that it really pissed me off and he laughed. He told me that I should not take exception, as it is just curiosity, no malice or hopes of taking advantage of me. He then asked me, "Oh, by the way, how much do you earn?"

It was funny, as he knew I run my own business, but it also helped relax me so that thereafter I would make up all kinds of extremes and then have to give a good story to explain why it is so. As you know....I love telling stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97