The Right Expectation

in #life6 years ago (edited)


One of the most spectacular things in life that I was able to experience before the birth of my son was helping people in the Philippines during dire times of need. Surgeries are only $400 to $500 USD here, so we were able to help family members twice who might not be in good health now if we didn't assist.

That (and other things) really cleared my conscious and made me feel like I was helping other people besides just myself, but it was after that (along with other things) that I realized over time that nothing in this physical world can permanantly satify a human being. Not money, not marriage, not family, not food, and not even living a selfless life of devoting yourself towards others - and that is because nothing lasts.

Once the experience is reached, and the dream is achieved, there will always be a 'disappointment factor' since the experience ends: Children eventually grow up and live their own life, our bodies will die, the importance of our moral acheivements will fade in time, and so on. Everything that can be experienced is transient, and believing that anything permanent (i.e. permanent happiness) can be attained in a physical universe where everything is changing (i.e. being born & dying) is like building our house on the sand - this idea was taught by Christ & the founder of Buddhism but in different ways.

It is still worth it to strive in this life, and it is still good to have goals, but it's appropriate to know that our dreams, goals and desires will never satisify us permanently, and that even the noble and 'selfless goals' we have cannot give us permanent happiness. I believe that seeing things from this perspective gives us The Right Expectation in life.

P.S. Some of the unhappiness in this world is born from people seeking permanent happiness in a world where nothing is permanent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I think this depends on your worldview. If you believe that one of the parts that make up a person is an immortal spiritual being, a consciousness that continues from life to life, then it is only the physical things that are temporary. And even human physical creations can last a relatively long time, such as the pyramids, Roman structures in Europe, great works of art, and more. Even when a person's body has died, some believe they can still exchange communications with the core part of that person.

It is true that people and things change as time passes, but I think it only becomes unpleasant when one is unwilling to let go of the present.

Thanks for commenting @yawnguy and I also think it depends on a person's worldview, and lot of it might be related to whether a person is experiencing a gain or loss of some kind.

Either way, I think it is healthy to know that everything we've gained will eventually be lost.

Consciousness is in the background of our thoughts, feelings and emotions but I don't think it is something we can gain or lose. It is always there and remains the same, for everyone and everything.

Thanks for responding. Could you please explain your final paragraph a bit more, as I don't get it?

You're welcome @yawnguy and thank you too.


I think I can explain better by sharing a photo I found online:

24131509_10212575928407862_8509507979876366653_n.jpg

Consciousness a.k.a. awareness is the same for everyone, it's blank without any physical attributes but everything that exists, appears and disappears within awareness.

Everything within awareness is subject to change (i.e. birth and death) but awareness itself is not - it's eternal and doesn't change.

OK, I think I get your meaning. Thank you for the picture. The way I see it, the world includes different, distinct life units (people, animals, plants etc) and different distinct objects. Each life unit has its own awareness or consciousness, some life units having more than others. So an ant has some awareness, but not as much as a person. All life units are interconnected spiritually. I'll stop here before it gets more complex! All the best to you.

Thank you @yawnguy and I am happy to see that you have already thought this through. You sound organized and detailed in your recent reply.


In the diagram I showed you, the second example still leaves room for distinct life units and objects, but they appear in awareness and eventually disappear in awareness.

Awareness and the contents of awareness are two different things:

  • If the content is removed from the awareness of an ant and a human being, the empty awareness remaining in both is identical without anything distinct between the two.

I think that empty awareness, without content is pure consciousness, and it remains forever while it's contents appear and disappear thoughout time.

Nice post. Reminds me of buddha's words- 'There's no path to happiness, happiness is the path.' Recognising the impermanent nature of things is sure way to be on that path.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am guessing that the path offered through seeing the impermanence of things is subtle, but much more sustainable than something along the lines of excitement @himalayannomad

I had already read the Pali Canon and knew about the teachings of impermanence, but something about all the good memories I have created since 2009 really shows the impermanence of our physical existence.

Thank you for commenting and I like that quote: 'Happiness is the path' 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67