The Reminder That You Need - Daily Meditation #4

in #life7 years ago


If you look under my bed, you will find a reminder. It's a reminder of when times were hard, and I wasn't as strong as I am today. This reminder is a pair of tattered, worn, and dirty work boots.

These boots have seen action. They've graced the floors of many factories. They even got me through one job where my role was to pick through literal garbage for wire that was recycled into precious metals. Not only did I have to pick through garbage, but my coworkers were men only let out of jail during the week to work this job (and no, I wasn't incarcerated with them).

On several occasions, I've tried to throw these boots out. I have almost no need for them now. I work in a cushy insurance job where I sip on free coffee all day. I'm also a minimalist, and own few possessions. I've given away more useful items than a grungy pair of work boots. Why can't I throw them away?

I can't throw these boots away, because they remind me to never become complacent. Hard times might be ahead. Actually, fuck that. Hard times are ahead. Something is coming down the pipe that will challenge me and set me back. These hard times could set me back so far that I might need these boots again.

We often rest on our laurels. A sense of invincibility can envelope us and lull us into a false sense of security. No wonder the average person is surprised when tragedy strikes. We've developed a self-imposed delusion that bad things only happen to other people. Somehow, we come to believe that we alone are exempt from the capricious nature of the universe. We become complacent and think that our position in life is untouchable. We all need a reminder from time-to-time to wake us up to the reality of the world. No, you needn't sleep with one eye open, but you should develop the wisdom to see that the good times can be precious and fleeting.

I don't even need to tell you my full life story for you to recognize that I've clawed my way out of a hole. To go from picking through trash with convicts to working in the professional world was a difficult climb. And if I am truthful with you, some days I still can't believe I turned it around.

However, through no fault of my own, my luck could dry up tomorrow. I could lose my job. I could have my finances ruined through identity theft. I could have to work another job to support someone I love that falls ill. Anything could happen.

But if any of those misfortunes were to be visited upon me, I know exactly what I'd do.

I'd take those boots out from under my bed, and simply begin again.

Today, I am lucky enough to be putting on a pair of leather loafers instead.


Like this post? Please feel free to follow me

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Main image created in Canva; underline credit



Sort:  

WoW! That's an awesome piece of text you wrote there. It sent shivers down my spine. I could almost sense how you felt when you wrote it...
I agree that people take good times for granted too often.
I've made the same mistake about 6 months ago and these last few months, I had to pay for that. I realize that this is my own responsibility. I had lost focus, and the sense of invincibility, like you call it, was there. For the first time in my life I didn't see it coming. I was too caught up, taking everything for granted...
And life hit, life hit hard.
I promised myself I would never let my guard down like that again. Like you, I now have a tangible reminder to never let me forget again that life can take a turn any time, and that I should be aware, to make sure I'm prepared, and to be able to handle it.
F***, you've got me crying. Your words - so wise - really touched me.
Thanks!

And please, take good care of yourself! We don't always have to be stoney and strong. I hope you're giving yourself the things you need.

Thanks for your uplifting words.
And change is good - even when it's for the worse, 'cos in ten years from now, we'll realize those were the times we actually learned the most, and that made us grow as a person. (Although that thought doesn't really help right now 😉)
It's a bit funny and creepy at the same time that you were able to put your finger exactly on the sore spot without knowing a single thing about me. I'm indeed struggling with the fact that one doesn't have to be strong all the time. But it's one thing to know it, but another thing to start practising it...
But I keep trying not to try! 😉

And you: wear those boots with pride! Life only gives us what we can handle, we simply need to be reminded of how strong we actually are. Take care!

P.S.: Don't you ever dare to doubt your ability to write. Keep writing straight from the heart, and don't kill it by overthinking it. I needed SteemIt to remember that - lol

Thanks so much. I will remember our conversation here. I hope to chat more soon. I'm very grateful you stopped by my blog today.

Same here. I’m glad I took the time to read. In general, I skip posts that have a word like ‘meditation’ in the title. Don’t know why I made an exception, but apparently my subconsciousness knew better :0)
I’ve even saved your post to be able to reread it whenever I need the reminder again.
I’m pretty sure we’ll take more soon

Yeah I think the "meditation" in the title might confuse people. It's actually paying homage to Marcus Aurelius and his writings known as "Meditations". I didn't even bother to explain it when I started this a few days ago lol whatever. People will figure it out ;)

Hey, @SimplyMike. It sounds like you've been put through some tough times lately. I hope that things stabilize soon.

THANK YOU for leaving this comment. This really touched me. I've doubted my words and my ability to write for a long time, so seeing you share these strong reactions helps me to keep creating.

You just maybe need to put your metaphorical work boots back on. We've all got a pair of them. Power through this time, stay strong, and it will be a distant memory (and a reminder of how things can change) someday soon.

Again, thank you.

You are wise beyond your years!

Thank you for commenting and reading @cathi-xx! I've certainly accrued a lot of experience in a short amount of time. I hope that translates to wisdom.

Have a wonderful day.

just keep going and realize your full potential. I may not have those boots, but i have a set of notes that often remind me the hardship i went through with the notes. They are memories and memoirs of our past life that presents the lessons we can never forget

I think that is one of the greatest benefits of blogging: you have a recorded history of you life and what you were thinking! I'm glad to hear that you have memoirs that remind you of how you got to where you are now.

Thanks for sharing. One has to be prepared and with the understanding that nothing is permanent/forever. Except the Creator.

I enjoyed reading your blog..it’s a hard thing going back down once you made it out of the hole..I have experienced it a couple of times and it suck..at the same time I feel that even if it was hard a fighter always picks himself up and goes at it until he reaches his point! Interesting idea..

It sounds like you have a lot of grit, @lidac. I think that's a very important personality trait to try to cultivate.

Thank you for reading. It's always great to see new faces in the comments!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ChrisMcCron from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Good job! Thanks to @simplymike you have planted 0.10 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14514.77. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Thank you for this read.
I was touched. Now i feel incomplete for throwing away the reminder i once had for a previous hardship

Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE Please comment your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61