You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Stories She Gave Me: On books and the death of my grandmother

in #life6 years ago

Thanks for sharing this story today. This part stuck out to me "I believe that our connections to our loved ones do not die when they do. We have a choice: we can keep them alive by pursuing what was shared."

I had a cousin that took his own life. We really enjoyed playing video games together. Lately, I've been avoiding planning those games like the plague. Reading you piece made me realize that I should consider doing that again.

I was surprised how quickly my opinion of video games changed after his death. I thought they were silly, a waste of time, and something I really needed to just quit.

I am starting to second guess my motivations for wanting to stop.

This was a great read. Thank you!

Sort:  

@chrismccron, Thank you for sharing this. I can't imagine your grief at your cousin's loss, but it makes sense you would grant yourself distance from what you shared in order to have time to heal. The anger of grief must go somewhere for awhile. If you want to write through it at all, connect with me on Discord. I'd love to support you.

Thanks, @shawnamawna! I'll have a think on that. Very kind of you to offer that kind of help. Have a wonderful day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66533.06
ETH 3491.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71