Attention Is A Gift - Daily Meditation #14

in #life7 years ago

Whether we are putting a rocket on the moon, playing beautiful music together, or forging a friendship, all collaborative human efforts demand our attention. When our attention is present, we can engage, interact, and contribute. When our attention is absent, opportunity goes unrecognized, people feel ignored, and nothing gets done.

Your attention is a gift.

We've all felt the sting of rejection when a close friend has trouble staying focused on our conversation. They fidget, fail to maintain eye contact, and get lost in their smartphone. When someone refuses to give us their attention, the quality of the interaction we have is diminished.

Conversely, when someone truly engages, making us feel like the only person in the world, we notice. We're more apt to share, be helpful, and listen when its their turn to talk. They give us the gift of their attention, and we're more than happy to return it with our own.

Your attention is a gift, because attention is potential.

When we pay attention, the situation at hand has the potential to become more than it is. This is embodied in the fact that every great human feat must begin with attention. Attention to a problem. Attention to an unmet need. Attention to someone else's suffering. Our attention to the world and the people around us is what gives us the ability to do something amazing.

This is all a roundabout way of saying thank you to you. Everyday, a few Steemians gift me with their attention. You take precious time out of your day to read these words. Without your attention, my content is just scribbles on a screen. But when you grant me your attention, these words are the potential for change, growth, and meaning.

Today, I thank you for the gift of your attention.

Do you find it easy to gift others with your attention? Do you find it hard to focus? Is attention as important as I made it seem, or have I overstated my case? I'd love to discuss your own ideas about attention in the comments below.

Like this post? Please feel free to follow me

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Main image created in Canva; underline credit



Sort:  

This is so true, and with today's technology I fear that people will loose sight of this! Thanks for the great post!

Hello @KimmieCFields. Good to see you here again.

I also worry that technological distractions obscure this obvious point I tried to make here.

Thanks for reading. :)

Attention is indeed a gift, beautiful write up :)

I appreciate you saying so, @asadullah. Have a great day, friend!

Good article. Attention to others is important. By the way, the lady has beautiful eyes...😊

Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed it.

And yes, I figured that she might demand a little attention hahaha

I always thank my friends if they gave me their attention after I had a conversation with them. Its felt great and they feel it too :)

That's a great habit to develop! I think we should praise people when they give us their undivided attention. I do that too!

That's great to hear! :D
Now I wish everyone is reading our comments and learn to be one (evil laughs).

Lol I won't hold my breath for that ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ChrisMcCron from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61472.96
ETH 2381.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56