Today We Put My Grandpa To Rest :(

in #life6 years ago

Today was a hard day for our family... we put my grandpa to rest, he was 96 years old and such a great man!! A lot of things have been going through my mind these last few weeks, but what hurts the most is the feeling of not spending enough time with him in these last couple of years...

My grandpa played a huge role in my life, one that I feel as though I have taken for granted in retrospect... My grandpa and my father are the reason I am the way I am today... honest, true, hardworking, patient, dependent, and tough.

As I spent the day grieving with family I came to realize that family is EVERYTHING! There are so many different paths that we can take in life, and some distract us more than others, but when it comes down to it, the most important thing that we have in life is family.

As I was reminded today, I just want to remind anyone out there reading this, hug your loved ones, tell them that you love them, and be present in their lives.

Good night Grandpa, may you rest in peace.

pension-3137209_1920.jpg

Image Source - https://pixabay.com/en/pension-third-age-enjoy-rest-3137209/

Sort:  

I am so sorry to hear that. I have very fond memories of my grandparents too, although the last of them left us about 18 years ago and two of them I never even got to meet (they died before I was ever born). Today I can see that special bond between my kids and my parents & in-laws. That gives them something that we (the parents) just can't provide for.

Thank you and I completely agree! I'm extremely grateful that mine and my wife's parents live relatively close to us.

Sorry for your loss Chris. My heart goes out to you and your family and anyone else who has lost those close to them. May your grandfather rest in peace.

Congratulations @chris51317! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @chris51317! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55