You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Space Oddity

in #life7 years ago

Let me try to put this together. You grew up in a logging camp surrounded by all kinds of roughnecks and characters. You lived way out in the yonder, witnessing first hand how treacherous life can be when you make your living off dangerous lands. Yet dolls and clowns creep you out. Hmm. I'm going to need more info to figure this one out. Too many Stephen King movies? Or was it Chucky who got to you?

Next topic. Weird things at work. One Saturday morning many winters ago, a customer was complaining about a draft in the dining room. Not unusual for winter time, people are always bitching about the cold. The next group of people who sat at the same table also complained about draft. OK, maybe something is going on. After the breakfast rush quiets down my mom goes out to the dining room to investigate. She comes back in the kitchen and tells me there is a hole in the window. What?

Now I have to check this out for myself. I'll be damned. There is a hole in the window. Mom doesn't understand how this can happen. I tell her it's a bullet hole. She immediately thinks I'm nuts. I go searching around the dining room floor and over by the counter I find the bullet. Now mom is convinced one of our competitors has gone insane.

We filed a police report but the cop came to the same conclusion as I had. It was hunting season. The restaurant is on the farm. The bullet was from a rifle. The incident occurred some time between midnight and 6 a.m. Logical conclusion : Some drunk on his way home saw a deer (or what he thought was a deer) in the parking lot and took a shot at it. And missed. Well he missed the deer. He did a good job hitting the window.

Last topic. Almost James Bond. I'm sticking to my original assessment. Lonely guy, meets a happy friendly face, doesn't know how to interact with someone in a proper way, does weird things to get some attention. I agree you should always trust your "creepdar", you never know for sure. Yet my guess is he is harmless. That being said, if he crosses any lines or makes you feel uncomfortable at work nip it in the bud immediately. Have a male coworker have a talk (threaten) with him. I worked with a lot of girls and women at the restaurant, and a few times over the years I had to tell a guy to back off. Never had an issue after that. Some guys are just awkward. They don't mean any harm, they just come off creepy.

Sorry about the length of this comment. @generikat you have the ability to bring out the bullshitter in me. Have a good day.

Sort:  

Oh Chops, lol! I said I wasn't overly fond of fake humanoids, not scared of them! Perhaps it was cause I was a little kid in the eighties when there were a ton of creepy doll and clown movies everywhere you looked?

Your story about the bullet whole window ventilation incident is priceless! I'm just glad the marksman shot at your restaurant after hours, for some reason I keep imagining a drunk thinking he saw eyes and tried to bag himself a buck...sheesh!

Regarding Almost James Bond, a couple of years ago I was receiving a bit more attention that I would have liked from a particular patron. It wasn't enough to make a ruckus about, but I had my husband come and hang out at the library for a couple of days. Nothing deters unwanted attention like seeing a gigantic Hawaiian, might be time to enact the Polynesian Protocol again...

You should never, ever apologize for your comments! I love them! And as a person that descends from a LONG line of BS artists, I have to say that your words make me feel right at home, lol! Hope you are having a great day too my friend😊

Good comment. I agree he may be awkward and harmless, but also feel if it goes even a bit further, he needs a talking to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.20
ETH 2421.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63