You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Greenie on a Gold Mine - Part 3

in #life7 years ago

@mazzle, I've just gone back an re-read this series and you've really nailed it in your accounts of working onsite. I've worked in the mining industry (although not as a FIFO worker) and all of what you've said here rings true. I think the mental health issues are definitely one of the biggest problems workers face so it was interesting to read how you were affected personally.

I'm really surprised about the onsite bar though, I thought mine sites were all dry these days?

I also had a friend/flatmate who was FIFO in Gladstone on one of the LNG projects and I'm pleased to say that she was not sexually harassed. That is something I'd not even considered, but you're right, I can easily see it happening. She did complain about the lack of healthy food options though and ended up buying a nutri-bullet to keep in her room.

Great series, I'm disappointed I didn't see the earlier versions when you posted them. I totally would have commented and upvoted otherwise.

Sort:  

Thanks @choogirl. What did you in the industry?

It’s been a fun series to write. All LNG sites are dry and a small number of mine sites are. The rest have bars though. You could buy a corona for $4 and this was 2 years ago.

The sexual harassment is definitely easing off now that more females are entering the industry and the companies are being more selective during the employment process.

During boom times it was pretty bad though. One of the reasons is that anyone could get a job out there, regardless of your background and experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63