Strategy to Win/Defeat/Accomplish/Attain just About any Goal.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

There is a very awesome book entitled The Science of Getting Rich by Wallace D. Wattles. I call it SOGR for short.


51LUjwyJ1oL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This pic was taken from the Amazon.com listing, but you can easily find copies of this book in all forms, from kindle to paperback, even free PDF. The powerful strategy that I got from this book can be applied most obviously to financial affairs, but also to almost every aspect of life that you desire. The same basic principle can be applied.

Actually, I first thought of it as a war strategy similar to what you might learn from places like The Art of War and other such tomes. (I think I picked up this one despite all the other many things one can lean from SOGR) There is a vast amount of knowledge gold to be found in SOGR, but for me, the take away I got after reading (actually I listened to it as an audiobook.. I am a really slow reader) is that you see your goal, for example a certain amount of wealth or some tangible goal (how about becoming a whale in steemit?!), and then you take little steps in order to bring you closer and closer to your overall goal. I think I've seen this concept before.. anyone seen the movie Baby Steps?? :P

Let's give a real life example now.. Here's one of my big-time goals for my financial life: Have multiple Assets that will provide me with passive income and will pay for any and all expenses I have. This can include anything, from real estate to small business, to having a big coconut farm. OK, now that we have a goal set, let's break it down into smaller steps that we can achieve.. one thing at a time. First on my list was real estate. Using the SOGR concept, I could just buy low and sell high for profit and then again invest in other things, or maybe acquire rental properties to bring in some passive income. The point is we are talking on focusing on 1 property at a time, even if you intend on owning 10 or more properties in the future.

The second was small business. I recently partnered with another steemian, @sasha.shade, and he wrote a great post about it here.. (not only is it great food.. it's probably the first food place to except SBD!)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@sasha.shade/shanito-s-mexican-grill-first-food-service-to-accept-sbd-in-the-philippines-maybe-the-world

shanitos3-wood.jpg

So that is just 1 more investment or asset that I've made for myself. I plan on adding a few more until my overall goal is achieved. Here is a final example of the SOGR method in practice on a very small scale, in a totally unrelated (to finance, or is it related?)

Do you enjoy playing games? I bet you do. I also assume you want to win as well as just playing for the fun of it. Me, too. I especially like playing strategy games as it is more using your brain and not just mashing buttons or total luck like some other games are. I've been playing this one game over the past several years. It's a Japanese game (but not to worry, there is an english version) and is now FREE to download and play. The name is Vantage Maters Online. (although it's not online, totally 1 player) Here's a few screenshots and where to get it if you want.. (and you totally should.. it's an awesome game PLUS u get to practice your SOGR skills)

First the link to go download it.. from the company's website, falcom.com..

https://www.falcom.com/vantage/download.html

and here's the screenshots I took from my computer while playing..


2017-08-31_22-24_Vantage Master V2    Scenario.jpg


2017-08-31_22-35_Vantage Master V2    Scenario.jpg


2017-08-31_23-08_Summon List.jpg


2017-08-31_22-45_Vantage Master V2    Scenario.jpg

This is why I consider it practicing SOGR.. while playing the game, your master (the main guy or gal who can summon other guys as well as do magic) has a certain amount of mp, or magic points. This number increases with the number of power stones you control.

2017-09-03_16-23_Vantage Master V2    Scenario.jpg

To sum it up, the more stones you have, the more and better guys you can summon to fight for you. Also, every stone you control is one stone that your enemy cannot draw magic from, so it benefits you while hindering them at the same time. cool, huh?

So, simply put, I try and gain control of all or most of the power stones and that way I can summon more guys and eventually defeat the enemy master. So how is that like real life SOGR? well, each power stone is an asset for me that provides me income.. in this case it's in the form of magic power. I use my SOGR strategy and acquire just 1 stone at a time, and eventually this makes it easy to win. :) Let me share a little SOGR strategy that I mapped out at the start of a recent game..

2017-08-31_22-32_Vantage Master V2    Scenario.jpg

I drew circles around the 4 points I planned to control, thus giving me the majority of the power stones.

I think I've probably revealed to much of my inner geek now, but I stand by my SOGR statements. Hopefully your interest is peaked and you will do some research on your own about it.. or maybe I was able to share a really cool game with you! :)

Ben


Sort:  

Congratulations @chinito! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chinito from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78