We need humanity more, only then can religion be well understood.

in #life7 years ago

I was at Mile 12 market in lagos last week to activate some products from Proctor and Gamble with the south-west team. I left our booth and went to ease myself at the market urinal. There, I noticed a woman arguing with another woman in her shop that she had pocketed one packet of Maggi without paying.
A few women gathered and they searched her bag and saw the packet of Maggi.

12-charlottesville-injured-woman.w710.h473.jpg
Credit

The shop owner started raising alarm, and other women, about three others joined her in raising alarm for Lagos touts to come and lynch their fellow woman. The woman who took the Maggi was crying at this moment. I even wondered why it was a packet of Maggi, of all things to take from that shop.
What did I do? I quickly stepped into that little scene and spoke up. Thanks goodness I was wearing a customized ward coat with doctor inscribed on it. No one would have listened to me.

I promised to pay for the Maggi, but the shop owner insisted that her fellow woman must be lynched. She had already pulled down her wrapper and the woman they wanted lynched was now in her undies. Thank God it was just us, and the market crowd seemed oblivious of what was going on in that shop.
Soon, other voices of reason joined me and we succeeded in paying for the packet of Maggi, retrieving her clothes, and leading her to safety. We put her in a bus going to Ojuelegba and I thanked God for her safety. I left that market that day disappointed in humans.
Humans are the problems of humans. Not God, not the devil. And these are Christian mothers in their churches every Sunday. Or you think those who behead someone for blasphemy are not devout Muslims? Does the life of your fellow human mean anything to you?

You see, more than religion, we need humanity; we need kindness and tolerance. Without these, keep your preaching to the dumb zombies listening to you every Sunday in church or Friday in mosque. I'm not interested.

Thank you for stopping by

Sort:  

We need morality, empathy.

Thanks for your contribution

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77