You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog #20: Secure your Steemit account by logging in with your posting 'password'.

in #life7 years ago

I definitely trust you @exyle that you know what you're talking about. But I wonder how many Steemit accounts are presently being hacked, if any. I know when I first signed on last July, many accounts (including mine) were hacked, but Steemit fixed the problem, returned my Steem, and my account was restored. Since then, I haven't heard of any problems.

I would take the steps you suggest but I'd be afraid to make a mistake, or not fully understand what I can and can't do if I make the change. For instance, can I still claim rewards? Or would I have to switch back and forth between passwords in order to claim them?

Sort:  

Just an example I come up with.

Someone installs a keylogger on your PC. You log in with the password that gives you the highest permissions. Now the 'hacker' has this password and can change the password of your account. You are locked out forever.

It's just bad practice to log in this way because it's not necessary at all.

Because you are more familiar with the platform I guess it's alright for you to log in with your 'active key'. This will give you all the permissions that you will ever need. And if this one gets stolen then you can always fix things with your owner key or the password they gave you when you created your account.

I hope this was clear. If not. please just ask.

EDIT

Just a sidenote. if you use the active key and it's stolen then any Liquid Steem / Steem dollars can be transferred.

OK...you convinced me...I'll try it. What have I got to lose, right? 🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48