SHOWER THOUGHTS Entry #3 – “Little Sins” We’re All Guilty Of

in #life6 years ago

Admit it. No matter how nice, how kind, how perfect we want to become, there are just some things (little sins as I call it) that we are all guilty of. You know, things that we know we shouldn’t be doing, but we still do them anyways; things we don’t want to admit to others even to our closest friends, but we know in ourselves that we are very guilty of those things.

So, here I am, braving my conscience, pretending to be cool, so I can write this with the hope that somehow by writing this (and basically admitting them), my little sins would be forgiven.

(Breathes deeply)


1. Cursing someone in your mind

I am sooo guilty of this, that if people would only know what I’ve said to them in my mind, I would have been murdered. I am a person with little patience. Years back, when someone pisses me off, I will throw an “adult” tantrum, but as I grow older, I have become quieter and just curse someone in my head, so I would appear the mature, rational one. At least in my head, I have won the battle. Ha!


2. Cutting in line

Oh. My. God. I hate people cutting the line, especially in public transport terminals. There are those really notorious “line cutters” that they will even fight you if you tell them off (you will pray for your safety afterwards, and curse them in your mind. See#1 above). And yes, I have cut lines a few times, and by a few, I mean, like 2 or 3 times only. But no, I am not a war freak line cutter. If somebody tells me off, then I will fall in line, but in those 2 or 3 times (yes, I have to repeat the 2 or 3 times), nobody bothered to reprimand me. Hehe. To explain myself, the 2 or 3 times I have cut the line were all in a bus terminal during long weekends where the lines were soooooo long, and I was sooooo tired and hungry. But I haven’t done that in years now. I’m a changed person(see #1 above again for the mature, rational one.)

3. Not returning the excess change

This one is hard to admit, as this is falls under the dishonesty category. Of course, I don’t do this intentionally as this would eat my conscience away. I have a habit of not counting change when I leave the counter. Also, sometimes, the cashier would count the change as they hand it to you, so I would just put the change in my pocket or wallet. Then, when I pull the change up, that’s when I see that some bills were doubled, or coins are in excess. By then, I would be far from the counter or I could be at home already. Thus, I would get lazy to return to the counter. Believe me, had I noted the excess immediately, I would have returned it to the cashier right away, as I know it would be charged to them. Now, I feel really, really sorry about this one. I will try to return all excess change should I “receive” one again.

*Side note: the largest amount I have “received” as an excess change was PhP50.00.*

4. Eating a piece of food that’s fallen on the floor

The five-second rule: if a piece of food falls on the floor, you shouldn’t pick it up and eat it anymore after 5 seconds, because they say germs have accumulated already. Actually, I don’t normally pick up and eat food that has been dropped. Well, sometimes I do, BUT, only at our house, and if the food falls on a cement floor, and if I really, really like the food and there’s little of it left. Gross, I know, but what can I do? Sometimes I have cravings, too!

5. Using the condensation from a glass of water to clean your hands

Or a glass of any liquid for that matter. Is it wrong? Or just unhygienic? Nevertheless, whenever I do this, it always feels wrong in many levels. Probably because I always do this secretly. I don’t want the people I am dining with to see that I am “cleaning” my hands or fingers using the glass I am drinking on.


I know, I believe, that I am not the only one guilty of all the things I’ve enumerated above. Who knows, maybe we all have a lot in common aside from these things? :)


image sources
123456

Sort:  

#1 I do a lot. It's better than saying it out loud. #2 Never. If it is for something important, I will reprimand anyone that does cut though. If it's a pretty woman wearing provocative clothing, then I let her pass too. I figure something good for me to look at. #3 Rarely. I too would return the charge if I noticed it. I have returned change many times when given too much. Once it was even $10 too much. #4 Rarely. As I get older, the less of this I do. Maybe it's just the bending over to pick it up part. If I do, it would have to be within the 5 seconds and it would have to be some food I really, really like. #5 Sometimes. Why not? That condensation is just going to waste. You might as well use it for something. I don't mind doing it in front of friends and family though. Wash with the glass and use a napkin to dry.

haha! thanks for sharing this!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cherry from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.11 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @cherryzmra.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61426.96
ETH 3441.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51