Handmade Glass - Ngwenya Glass Village

in #life7 years ago

As a child, I was absolutely fascinated with the process of making handmade glass ornaments. My parents used to take me to a market where they had these artisans creating all kinds of glass ornaments using different techniques like blowing, kiln-formed and sandblasting. I could stand watching them for hours, totally mesmerised by their skill.

For an art outing, I decided to take my daughter to Ngwenya Glass Village so she can experience how they make glass ornaments from recycled glass.

20170711_120230.jpg

Ngwenya Glass started off in Swaziland in 1979 by Swedish Aid. They imported the equipment and trained some locals in the age-old art of glass blowing. They only use recycled glass and mainly old cold drink bottles.

20170711_113226.jpg

Each piece is handmade and mouth blown with its own unique touch. On the following three photos you will see the artisan working on a rose which needs to go into a glass dome like the one in the “Beauty and the Beast” movie. He started off using a long tube forming a few petals first to build up the rose. Each petal got fused together one by one to form the rose.

20170711_114028.jpg

It took him about 20 min to get the rose to this phase. He first had to warm the middle piece onto which he had to mount the petals. He then took a petal, heat it and fuse the two pieces together while holding both in the heat of the flame. He used a tweezer to manipulate the hot glass to the desired form. He repeated the process with each petal.

20170711_115751.jpg

They create ornaments, light fittings and tableware for hotels, shops and private customers worldwide. Each piece is customised and unique.

20170711_113703.jpg

They also love to create pieces of the local wildlife as you can see in these photos. They use clear glass then add the colour as they form the ornament.

20170711_113642.jpg

Ngwenya produce all kinds of drinking glasses, candle holders, bowls, trophies, decanters, jugs, paper weights, lamps, tissue boxes and customised products. On this photo, you can see a customised and unique bedside lamp.

20170711_113718.jpg

The Village is ideal for a Saterday outing with the entire family as they boast with an art gallery, shops with a variety of homemade products, a restaurant and entertainment for the children while the adult's shop.

20170711_120150.jpg

I made a video but onfortunately it did not want to load so I decided to use this one for you to see the process:


Video Credit

Follow this link for more information on Ngwenya Glass:
https://ngwenyaglass.co.sz/

Sort:  

Watch glass blowers is enchanting and you can very quickly lose track of time. When I was a boy in England we went on an outing to the local market and as my mother was shopping, I just stayed there and watched...I even forgot about food....and that's a hard feat for a 13 year old boy. Awesome post mate.

Thank you troyvandeventer, I also have constantly grazing teenage boys so fully understand.

WOW! This glass ornament stuff your making is really neat and fun to look at. Also, I like seeing the step by step process of how you created the artwork. It made me think of a website that you get paid for showing your process with the finished artwork itself. www.patreon.com check it out, buddy!!!

Thank you for your reply and link jamie-smith.

When I visit USA I went as well in a glass factory, I love it :)

Wow, I always found this type of art to be amazing. Thanks for sharing... upvoted and FOLLOWED!!

Thank you for your support verydicey.

Your art is just amazing!!!!

Thank you but it is not my art olgy-art.

Loved these pictures! How can I get into glass making in general? Do you have any specific tips on how to join the community?

artistic :)

glass art is classy and hard to form! I love your article! :)

Very good article. Spectacular art @cherryblossom-sa

Thank you elfrances185.

just wow
unbeliveble 😲😲

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.57
ETH 3030.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26