My Age Gap Relationship (2) Telling Parents

in #life6 years ago

13133236_1182642838433740_2742021589230757812_n.jpg

I wont lie... when I first came home and told my parents I was seeing an "older man", the room stood a bit still...

"What do you mean "Older", like how MUCH older?" My parents asked

I was 23 at the time and he was 36 ... there was no real beating around the bush about this, so, because I knew @pawsdog was it for me and they were going to have to just accept it, I just owned it, blurted it out...

"He's 36, its only a 13 year difference." I said

I think my parents nearly choked on their dinner.

They just stared at me, almost like waiting for a punch line or for me to say April Fools...

"I love him, and you may not agree with it, but you'll see, were perfect for each other."

After a few moments of silence my dad says "Chels, I am 43...he's only 7 years younger than me"

I said "Yes, I know you're 43, and you got to choose whom you fell in love with...."

My parents tried a few different ways to talk me out of it (before even meeting him). All coming back to the stereotypes of being "weird" or a cradle robber, or people will give you funny looks, blah blah. Continued to try and convince me how "abnormal" this was for people to date this far off their age. It never swayed my decision. It was a tough conversation at first I wont lie. But, once it was out in the open for them to know, I just spoke of it all with absolute normality. I didn't keep it hush for sake their feelings or not talk about him because it made them uncomfortable. No, I did just the opposite. I made sure every day I was around them to bring up at least one great thing about @pawsdog and our relationship we were building together... before long, they realized this was a real thing... and it was gonna take a lot more than complaining about his silly "age number" issue to get rid of him ;)

Why are "same age relationships" "NORMAL"... your normal isn't my normal and my normal isn't your normal... my normal happens to be a bit "abnormal" and 13 years older ;) and I wouldn't have it any other way :)

Sort:  

@pawsdog might be one of the most impressive dudes ever.... but I've never seen him smiling in a photo before. .. it suits him.

I'm glad your parents came around, because quite frankly, most dudes are idiots at 23. I wasn't great, honestly. By mid-30s most guys have their lives together and are a million times more responsible. You complement each other, and that's more important than anything else.

Most days I have it all together... :)

Exactly! This couldn't be more true! We were at the mall the other day and we enjoy "people watching" together and I saw a group of guys in their 20s acting a "the way 20 year olds act" and it disgusted me. I turned to him and said, "sorry but you have to hold out living til I'm ready to go with you cause if i ever loose you ill literally never date again, do you see this rubbish Id have to choose from!? lol" Guys my age (MOST) are so immature and only got one thing on the mind. Ive always been an old soul and way more mature than my peers. Bought my very first home at 18 years old. Our drives and focus definitely compliment eachother and together were unstoppable! :)

Congratulations @chelseajo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Exactly, age doesn't mean anything when there is real love,congratulations!!

Thank you! :)

Live life to the full enjoy every moment life has to throw at you , Age is only a number If your in Love that is all that matters as long as you treat each other right , well done and you both look great together x
UP VOTED AND FOLLOWED
DQmdFJRx4XH3zNGySfPDHXWxRghNnbsEdov2Luh8f9o8bdb.png

Thank you very much! No love is easy and it takes a lot of work and commitment but if you have two people willing to constantly work at it and give it your all you can make a power team and get to have a long fulfilling life with your best friend and partner in crime :)

Exactly enjoy every minute you have with each other and grasp every bit of joy that is thrown at you , xx

As a new father of a 7 month old daughter I can’t imagine what my reaction would be if I was told my 23 yo daughter was dating a 36 yo.

However, 27 and 41 seems fine? Lol all relative I guess. Good to see it hasn’t stopped you :)

Funny how that works? Or what about a 40 year old dating a 53 year old...no big deal right? Its all about perspective I guess

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89