Im a "Thrifter" and proud of it!

in #life6 years ago

thrift.jpg

I am an avid thrifter.

Some would say, Goodwill is my second home.

Starting with my grandfather, then my mother, then me, and now my daughter, you can catch us in a Goodwill or other thrift store at least twice a week usually! :) The thrill of finding a "bargain" or new/old treasure, the uniqueness of the items vs all the items in stores that everyone else already has.

Its such a rush.

Not to mention the lesson that it has taught me over the years from my grandfather and mother. The lesson being that you don't have to have the latest greatest most expensive thing to be happy. Happiness comes from what you make of it. Our family was by no means poor. We could definitely afford to go to the mall and buy new things. But why? Why waste the money on clothes and other household items and spend a markup of over 200% when I can get the same thing for $0.99?! For a long time I didn't tell many of my friends I loved to thrift and purchased my clothes from a thrift store. I think at a younger age it is much less "cool".

But now a days as an adult I totally pride myself in my purchases and the fact that I spend a fraction of the price on my clothing and other household items that my friends do. I get told constantly "you dress so well!" "oh my gosh where did you get that shirt" "that home décor is so cute it must've cost a fortune"; and ill tell you it is one of the best feelings in the world to say... "actually, I only paid $0.99 for it, and watch their faces in disbelief! I personally would rather spend all the money that my friends spend on designer clothes at retail price (which most the time I can find basically the same exact things and brands at the thrift store) on either my daughter, investments, or experiences.

If you didn't know, you'd have no idea by the way I dress or decorate my home that I RARELY buy ANYTHING brand new :)

MEK_1058-1.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91