Therapy Animals Are the Coolest! Warning: Lots of Cute Animal Pictures!

in #life6 years ago

20180711_231109.jpg
In the geriatric healthcare world, therapy animals are often seen, usually certified therapy dogs. In the new place I work we have multiple large bird cages, fish tanks, therapy dogs, & even Parker the therapy cat! Parker looks to be an elderly cat himself and I don't know his full story but he has his own room with his name on it. :D
20180711_230631.jpg
20180711_230804.jpg
The bird cages are glass enclosed, and I know my cats would be having a field day watching the birds. Maybe in Parker's prime. Nowadays Parker seems to be quite content to lie around and get petted or rub your legs. Or give you that typical cat look of, you're still taking pictures of me, human?
20180711_230921.jpg
I know Parker must have a special story and I aim to find out. Anyway, the birds are neat too. If you look closely enough in my first picture, I think I see another birdie snuggled in the back of the nest. There are a variety of these finches.
20180711_231456.jpg
There's even a baltimore Oriole bird, according to a couple sources anyway. I've been told you can see them in the wild in Minnesota as well. Funnily enough, I never saw them when I lived near Baltimore, MD for nearly five years, at different times.
20180711_231716.jpg
20180711_231848.jpg
There's also an elusive blue finch that I've yet to get a good picture of. One of the cages has some neat small pigeon type birds. These cages are pretty big which is great, the birds always seem content and lively & the cages are kept quite clean as well.

It's amazing the therapeutic effects animals have on the elderly, sick people of all ages, & people in general. I love seeing people's eyes light up when they see Parker, or one of the several therapy dogs, or the delightful, chirping birds. The aquariums provide a nice, tranquil vibe.
20180712_002844.jpg
I kept freshwater aquariums for many years and had a really old cichlid (over ten years old.) Some people don't think you can get attached to fish, but that's not true. I also had a goldfish that lived to be quite old. I do believe they can develop a fondness for the human that feeds them and they do look at you. Obviously, certain breeds are more attentive than others.

I think I will get back into aquariums. I was always good at it & enjoyed it immensely. What are your thoughts? Do you have a therapy animal? I have two therapy cats that are the best. They can be better companions than actual people at times. Orangey certainly thinks so. =)
20180712_003543.jpg
And my box kitty is always entertaining. =^_^=
20180712_003720.jpg
That will wrap things up. Thanks for visiting my blog.
received_10213668943096120.jpeg
Find Steemit Dreamit support group on Facebook

Sort:  

So cool. Ive got 3 cats and 2 Guinea pigs. I deal with nerve issues, adrenal fatigue and i can get frazzeled easily. When i chill with my Guinea pigs they help calm me. I literally was just commenting to my bestfriend how I feel better when I hold them in those times. Those are a lot of birds. Beautiful. Animals are really speacial.

That's really great you have your animals there for you =)

Good to know I have plenty of cats around for my therapy. :-)

That's a lot of animal , did you have them??

No if you read the post almost all of them are from where i work...

I feel like I received a therapy just reading this. People are quick to say what animals feel but especially what they don’t. Just like with a human, only you can feel the depth of that friendship. Unless that fish’s just playin’ You.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76