Stress Can Slow You Down - Appreciating the Subtle Gains & Adjustment Disorder

in #life6 years ago

20180708_215349.jpg
I succumbed to the infamous bathroom selfie to show my subtle gains which is some muscle in my delts! You have to look close. :p

Today I did a short run and 30 pushups in sets of ten. I was pretty tired before I went running, given that today is my Monday (I work Sunday-Thursday), but it felt good to sweat.

My title states stress can slow you down, why yes, it can. In the past 3 months I relocated far, far away to the magical land of Minnesota. I then had to wait entirely too long to get my state physical therapy license so I could work up here. I also got pretty sick in May and had to be hospitalized. Blah, blah, blah. Of course it hasn't been all bad....

My lovely boyfriend is here. My sweet cats are here & here lately I'm in generally good health. I think the stress has impacted my running. Prior to moving I was able to churn out 7 minute something miles on the regular when I was trying for a fast mile time. Even the occasional 6:50 something wasn't super uncommon. Today....8min 37sec. Although, I did have some sustained stretches at a quicker pace.
20180708_220355.jpg
The altitude is higher here, and I have an adjustment disorder, which is not a made up thing. Just means it takes me longer than most to get used to new things due to more difficulty dealing with stress.

Hopefully in time I will be speedy again. However, until then I'm thankful for the small gains, my lovely lover, my family, my kitties, my health, AND my dearest Dreamian friend (you know who you are ♡.) Also, I started a new coloring today.
20180708_222905.jpg
I'm on a Terra Bildspacher kick of late. I love her whimsical and at times dark style.

Well that about sums it up. Leave me a comment. Do you have a hard time adjusting? What helps you adjust with more ease?
received_10213668943096120.jpeg
Find Steemit Dreamit on Facebook. We are a support group for Dreamians

Sort:  

Stress is the worst thing can happen to humans we all need to find our ways not to get into it and if it happens to be over that fast

Yeah it sucks but it's a part of the human existence

Nice delts mate!!! The size is not important at all, you are a strong athlete ;-)...
If you want to increase the volume you should stop running, which i don't recommend you to do ;-)

Thanks! =)
I'm not worried about size, just nice to be toned. And, no way not stopping running! Lol

I can tell you that I have succumbed to the bathroom selfie a time or two to track some progress, as well. 😉 I don't like when my cheese gets moved either. Change throws me off my game for a bit, even if it is the good type. I'm sure you will be cranking out those faster miles in no time!

Ha, glad i'm not the only one lol. And don't get me started on the cheese. Haha!

Laughter helps me the most with stress. I think the heat and humidity can also slow down a workout routine. Make sure you fill up on electrolytes.

Otherwise philosophy is a double edge sword, there are times where it increases the stress and others where it diminishes it.

I like to think a philosophy where you haven’t given up on people can help reduce it which is why it makes me happy when you say you find beauty in humans, even as though some have hurt the trust.

How on point you are as usual my friend. Laughter is the best medicine. ♡
True at times it can increase stress, depends on how you look at it. When i think to myself how strong i actually am, having completed marathons, etc, i'm less hard on myself about this or that not being as toned as id like.

Stress is a butt kicker... something I know only too well. There have been a couple of periods in my life where I fell completely out of fitness, due to stress. Or due to the fact that I believed I had NO TIME, due to working two jobs.

Of course, it does matter to stop and be grateful for the little things we DO have. Like cats... cats are great for stress.

Agreed fully on our furry friends =)

Stress can be rough for sure but that is good that you are making positive gains and getting your miles in.

Looking good young lady. :-)

Thank you :)

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78