Running on Friday the 13th

in #life6 years ago

20180713_233901.jpg
I just realized today was/is "Friday the 13th." Ha! Wasn't such a bad day. I work Sunday- Thursday so today was my Saturday. I got some grocery shopping done and had a pretty chill day. I just realized it seems like I haven't posted about my running in a while. I ran short yesterday, coming off a three day self imposed rest period because my pre-arthritic/arthritic left knee has been a real pain in the ass lately. Icing and staying on top of my nutrition has seemed to help. It didn't hurt during today's run so that's good. A bit tender now but I am caring for it.

I began stretching more as well and that's helpful. I don't stretch as much as as I should, unfortunately. Bad Chelsea.

Weather was a bit hot & humid but overall nice run along the Mississippi.
20180713_234602.jpg
Years ago my then boss told me I run "too much" & would need a knee replacement before my 40th. We both work in the physical therapy/ rehabilitation industry. Other colleagues thought my knee was "jacked up" also when doing patellar mobilizations on my knee. Didn't hurt so I was like, whatever!

Now, my stubborn self could actually see that being an unfortunate reality. Ugh! I'd have to take months off to get those titanium parts in my knee. Bleh. Why don't we have cartilage regenerating wands by now?

There are wands for practically everything else! 😋😮😂

I need to be more careful I guess. Or stop listening to my colleagues and see a real doctor. Or, be in better tune with my own body. Or, a combination of all of the above.

Anything but stop running. Nothing else does it for me. I've tried! My oh my, what a tangled web we weave.... not sure what I'm even saying at this point. Testing to see who is still reading!
FB_IMG_1526476961352.jpg
Steemit Dreamit is a support group for the genuine Steemian. Find us on facebook

Sort:  

I was reading, but at that point all I could think of was:

rick-morty-spider-peace.gif

😜

HA! Good one 😁

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

A healing wand would be fabulous! I totally get you on running being a very singular type of fix. There's nothing else quite like it, and this is coming from someone who enjoys all types of fitness. Nutrition can definitely help with inflammation, but you know better than anyone that sometimes structural issues need more intense measures. I hope you don't need anything invasive any time soon (if ever). Technology is moving so quickly maybe if you hold out for a little while that wand will come along after all. ;)

True you just can't beat the endorphins of running. But also can't easily fix structural damage. Probably didn't help that i landed hard on my knee a few years ago. Oh well, it's still working but i will be careful

I'm glad you had a good Friday the 13th. I did too because I was off work. :D

Haha good for you =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65