You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Trip to The Infamous Forest Haven Asylum

in #life7 years ago

Thanks for the comment. I've read some stories about UK asylums as well. What really disturbs me is when those could function relatively normally in society (I.e. dyslexic) being sent away and GETTING WORSE. There's just a ton of stories about people who actually got worse in these facilities. Ugh. Just horrible. I agree small group homes with 1:1 caregivers is the best idea

Sort:  

Dear chelsea88 and your sister traveller ohmenlightened, thanks for getting back. My husband (American born and quite the savant) I used to think was dyslexic as he thought so literally. Some time ago he told me he'd watched a documentary on Aspbergers syndrome and he recognised things in himself. It was like a light coming on. Oh, so that's it. That's why he was such a marvellous photographer/printmaker and still does some awsome cooking. Poor dear has so much to put up with health wise that he needs to know that he is understood. It has sometimes been frustrating for us both, but now we are comfortable in the knowledge. It could have been something I couldn't deal with and I've dealt with a lot. It seems strange that someone like me was called upon on three respective occasions to nurse those dear to me from cancer, including my mother. I would never in my earlier years considered myself for that role. It was both a priviledge and a special time, despite losing those lovely people. So there you have it. I am sympathetic to anyone with any mental issues whatever they are. The world is still not up to the task. I try to write when I can where it counts. Carry on caring about old buildings and their history and carry on remembering those less fortunate mentally. ASlso keep thinking happy thoughts!

Right on @jvalentine
I'm sorry for your losses by the way ❤
I'm a big mental health proponent and although many things have improved in this" industry", still many more things that need to be done. Still so much lack of understanding.

Yep, there were probably many aspbergers patients here just because they were a little socially awkward. I had a physics professor in college who had it and was a freaking genius.
How easily things could've turned out negatively for him.

Thank you chelsea88 for your response. We deal with losses but retain the lovely memories, especially the ones where we laughed a lot. Funnily enough although my husband is thought of as slightly eccentric, or opinionated, he is socially adept as most of my family and friends love him! So there you go. Understanding is the key. By the way I was so emersed in the photos I forgot to look at the graphics of any kind. Now looked and through the smut there is some bright sparks. Stay well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40