Nothing Wrong with Snail Mail & Other Musings from Chelsea

in #life7 years ago (edited)

20171212_225006.jpg
These days news travels at the speed of sound, just about. Sometimes it almost seems there is in fact, too much information going around! It is an overload to the senses oftentimes. Obviously, global news travels online via social media & news outlets seconds to minutes following the newsworthy event. The same can be true in our personal lives if we aren't careful. Information is constantly spewing!

When I was a kid, I loved snail mail. My Dad was military and we moved a lot. About the time I had made friends, well, it was time to move again. So, I ended up with a lot of pen pals. Over time those relationships stopped being reciprocated due to any number of reasons to include, hitting puberty. Only one of those people do I loosely stay in contact with to this day & that is via Lamebook. Speaking of which, omg, trying to get people to join Steemit is like pulling teeth. I believe there's a place for most people on steemit- you've got your born writers, your avid readers, your artists, etc etc etc!

Anyway, I digress, as I frequently do. I still believe in the power of snail mail. People who are close to me will receive it at holidays, birthdays, "thinking of you" moments, "condolence moments", and at random Chelsea chosen moments. This year as part of my snail mail tradition, I got lucky and found these amazing Dr Seuss cards.
20171212_224413.jpg
20171212_224544.jpg
I had to buy more stamps & as you saw in my header photo, those are cute too! The greetings in these cards are simple, but perfect. Each of the four cards has something a little different.
20171212_224635.jpg
20171212_224716.jpg
20171212_224755.jpg
20171212_224856.jpg
And here's the information on the artists/ makers of these cards...
20171212_225129.jpg

I also learned today that FedEx does not sell stamps and that's just plain strange to me. 😲
So, what do you think? Snail mail is special, right? Please chime in, I always love hearing from my readers.

To wrap things up, just remember that whoever takes time out of their day to personally hand write in a card for you, obviously cares enough to do that, & that in and of itself is meaningful. I know a little snail mail always cheers me up. This is the Christmas card I got last year from our famous, wonderful, & awesome Steemian @lauralemons, who is sadly deceased. Miss you girl, RIP! She knew me well sending me a caticorn card. 💓💓 And, this is probably my most meaningful & priceless card ever now. ♡♡
20171213_003203.jpg

chelsea88_red.png
20170809_145430.jpg
@eastcoaststeem
20171113_133333.png
Stock up on all natural high quality CBD products & many other natural supplements!
http://mynutraceuticals.com/chelsea88
DQmTbZwzeqtJ4tJiULoyg57TiGKrhPAfSsw89ZBber5G5mL.png

Sort:  

Sadly it seems the snail mail get most often is a thank you card when i send flowers to a funeral. But my mother-in-law is a faithful sender of seasonal holiday and birthday cards. I do appreciate the effort it takes in a world where most things are done by point and click.

I used to love writing letters to my college girlfriends and girl friends. There is a difference.

I saved their responses. I still go back and read them. Not often but I do and it brings back great memories.

Something about the handwriting makes them so much more meaningful.

You keep ex's letters?

Friends and ex girlfriends. Most of them were very good writers. I've always been attracted to women who can express themselves.

My wife used to get mad about me keeping them. I kept things she sent me too.

And there's nothing wrong with that...

Nope there's nothing wrong with it =)

Mister D! Your wife is awesome.

Thank you, but I think she just knew when to give up on a lost cause. Lol

Hi new friend!

Lol 😂 you called it Lamebook.

I L❤️VE Snail Mail AND I sent out those same cards last year. I like those type of cards better than those post cards with people's pictures of them. I used to run a Snail Mailers team on Etsy and was even paid for a few months to send out mail. Thanks for your post - maybe I'll go mail someone a letter now ❤️

waves hi back
That's cool about your etsy business I can see people wanting a personalized touch but not wanting to do it themselves lol

It's just nice to get mail! I'm following you, if I'm more savvy in February I'll suggest a Valentines Day swap to you ❤️❤️

You know, that sounds fun! Keep steeming you'll be glad you did

❤️❤️

I have never been great at writing so in snail mail days I never kept in contact with anyone I have to admit

But that said those cards and stamps are so cute

YOur welcome

Hope its ot viscously cold there

It is pretty chilly

Tryand stay warm

Nice when your dreams come true. Merry X-Mas
giphy.gif

These are nice cards. I love to received cards. It makes draws me closer to the sender.

@seyiodus.

I still mail out Christmas cards each year. I even make personalized family cards at Vistaprint and they always look amazing. Nothing beats snail mail. Who wants to receive an e-greeting anyways???

Nice. Yeah I always thought e- greetings were too ad like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50