How Much Sand Do You Have Left?

in #life6 years ago

20180707_164605.jpg
Time is constantly slipping away from us, like sand. I was talking to my dear friend @edouard just yesterday about this. The realization struck that we, as humans, often do not allow ourselves the time to feel and express our true, most innermost feelings.

In modern society, we are finding ourselves caught up in perpetual busy-ness. Are we really too "busy" to give ourselves this very important time for deep thoughts & expression of true feelings & emotions? We are not. If you think you are, I suggest some serious self reflection.

When's the last time you told your best friend how much he/she means to you & why? Same goes for family members & significant others. Many people suffer from low self esteem and while this is NOT a post about reassuring others, it is a post to relay the fact that if you don't get your true feelings of love, admiration, & appreciation out that your "sand" might just run out before you get the chance & the other person may never get to hear those important words from you.

Or, conversely, the person of whom you need to express will have their sand run out. As John Mayer would say, "Say what you need to say." And, say it while you can is what I say.

It is not always easy to express emotions. Particularly if life has shown you how cold & cruel others can be. This lends itself to deep mistrust and one can find themselves feeling bitter & regretful. I know, as this is a struggle of mine. Over time, I have softened and come to know that not ALL people are like those who've hurt me in the past.

That's why we must take advantage of each day we can lift another's spirit & say "I love you." Don't let that sand slip away from you! ❤
received_10213668943096120.jpeg
Steemit Dreamit is a support group on Facebook and discord
https://discord.gg/nStvnx
https://www.facebook.com/groups/841836085982525/

Sort:  

There are so many reason’s to feel numb that one has to remind themselves that they are made of soft vulnerable flesh, to breathe and to try to block the noise out. It doesn’t come natural anymore because of the technology and the ensuing information. It requires a fair amount of active work.

And meditation helps, grounding techniques in general. It does require work, but it isn't impossible. Thing is many are scared or unwilling to put in said work

I wish I made the time more that’s for sure, I still have to do that scissor meditation.

Me too, I didn't do it last week!

Nice post. I really love the movie "In Time" with Justin Timberlake. Imagine a future where time is money and the wealthy can live forever. Scary.

Never seen that movie but now I want to. I've often considered scenarios where the wealthy have access to biotech the common or poor don't .... creating an "elite" race

Reminds me of the shadowrun universe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02