Time Management #4: Your Work Space Contributes Greatly to Your Focus...

in #life6 years ago
Hello, fellow Steemians!

In the previous post in our series of articles about time management, we discussed the element of mind.
As we said before, the knowledge of time management revolves around three primary factors; mind, space, and time. Today, we are going to talk about space and how it contributes to our focus when performing a task.


image1.jpg
img src

When it comes to time management, you need to envision an imaginary enemy. The enemy that wants nothing more than to fashion your character in a way that only procrastinates and wastes time when you he or she doesn’t have any.

But this enemy, with all its illusions, is a puny and cheap adversary, for the only weapon that it can use against you is distraction.

Distractions are the greatest enemies of time. In our previous blog regarding the concept of mind in time management, we labelled these distractions of the mind as ‘gathering points’ and bottlenecks that compel you to throw away your most urgent and imminent thought in the favor of other unimportant and unnecessary bubbles of imagination.


image4.jpg
img src

When we are talking about distractions, perhaps the most vivid and palpable of them all is the space surrounding us. Take a closer look at the place where you work. It might be an office in your company’s headquarters. It might be a personal room in your house. Or it might be both.

When you work or sit down to do something, you are not really alone. Your mind is doing the math and the imagination in your head to perform the task, all the while observing your surrounding and its objects in an inadvertent process.

Think about all those objects that are always there with you when you are working in your work space. Think about the many times that they have distracted you and cost you your time and efficiency.

image3.jpg
img src

If your work space is contributing to your deceptive distractions rather than helping you focus on the task at hand, then you need to change it as soon as possible.

Change is hard. Adapting to that change even harder. But if you are willing to get results, you need to sacrifice that loss of comfort to achieve that result. In this case, that something is the willingness to actually make a change in your work space to increase your efficiency.

The next time you sit to work, be mindful of your surrounding space. Be mindful of the distractions that come your way. Identify the source of those distractions, and eliminate them immediately.


image2.jpg
img src

For example, if I were working on an important documentary about nature, I would decorate my surroundings with objects, thoughts, and pictures that would give me new creative ideas about this subject, or at the very least prevent my mind from leaving the ambiance of that world around which my work forms.

If your smartphone is contributing to these distractions, then your smartphone is an object that should not remain in the environment where you work. If your desk or your shelves are untidy, and that untidiness is contributing to your constant distractions, then you should immediately decide on putting everything in its order.

All of this conversely contributes to your focus and the eventual increase of your attention to what you should actually be doing, and not alien thoughts that have no place where and when you work.


The decency and relatability of your work space is the next step towards your journey in time management.

A BIG HUG!

@chbartist

============================

Important Note!

I have been working very hard on this blog since the beginning. I have a very busy life but I am giving my best and believe me I have shared experiences that I have been coaching thousands of people and I know that the change of the Mindset should be daily. I am already grateful to see you giving upvotes to each other and you can see this with the fact that many already have 8, 9, 10 upvotes. But I'm sure that with the effort of all of us we will see a community with, 40, 50, 80 upvotes and for that everyone should get engaged so we can make it come true. I believe and we can! Resteem...

***Remember Community: Please, if you commented and upvote on a new post I did, please always go back to the previous one because if someone in the community commented lastly because of time zone differences it will be without your upvote and that would not be fair.

You all know the goal! We can reach: 50+ Upvotes each others!

Attention!!!

I'm reading all the meaningful comments from the posts.

I am here making a list of all of you who have helped build this community by voting for each other who write meaningful comments and soon I will respond to everyone with comment and thank you all because I can already see this spirit being built in this Positive Mindset community and help between all of you.

You will receive my upvote in all material and brief comments I will do this in all the posts I am following very closely and I can see what the people who are generous and contribute to this legacy that I am trying to build with all of you can become reality in a short time.

AND

First of all, I would like to thank all of you, who are the most active and proactive in this community, showing your generosity and always with meaningful comments. From now on I will always make a list of these incredible people who have helped to expand our goal of growing ever more.

And if you are not on this list, please, after making your comment, write in that comment: Include my profile in the list, because I do or want to be part of all this with all of you!

But I ask that if you are new around here you read many of the previous posts because they make it clear that we are building a community with respect among all, generosity and this blog is for those who really want to start moving their Mindset to positive and moreover be part of the growth of all of us who contribute to this blog. Please do not ask to include you in the list if you are just wanting votes or speculating because we want here people genuinely attuned to growth and good attitudes and as I have always said with Respect as the basis of all, generosity and positivity!

Remember the rules. First leave your comment meaningful and then leave your message that you want to be included in this comment. Everyone is welcome and I hope this list grows exponentially because this will be a reflection of everyone's growth. I really do not want to be able to update the list of so many people that can be included in it. Let's go together towards the 50+ upvotes to recognize the efforts of those who dedicate their time so that we can become stronger and leave a legacy of growth in our lives and in the lives of others!

ABOUT OUR LIST!!! WE NEED GROW THIS LIST! LET'S GO TOGETHER IN THIS COMMUNITY - RESTEEM!

I'm not going to put this list in all the posts because I do not quite understand why, but some people did not like me to tag them even though this list is a list of acknowledgment and thanks from the people I've observed being the ones who write meaningful comments , are generous voting for each other and contribute more to this family we are building here. So stay tuned to the text below and in the next posts.

@juanmanuellopez1 @moghul @coolguy222 @newageinv @gowealth @blessed-girl @cruis @lexymaine @alokkumar121 @aceandnotes @darlenys01 @rafique1953 @marvyinnovation @wems @ajks @alaisguineasis @amnlive @kimmysomelove42 @praditya @tommyl33 @samryan @vickykarma @brightsun @oppongk @kryp70kn1gh7 @hobo.media @theticket @royer94 @mentalhealthguru @bradley028 @nummulshrma @steemmatt @maxijgcomm @maikelblogo @mrblu @nancymj @petervi @mcoinz79 @missabigail @saludoalalma @mcnestler @moarafatshow @gargi @luis402 @rem-steem @shahzadeh @sumon-ar-vines @naijauser @yantrax @josema.saborido @khan.dayyanz @shapescooper @aceofhearts @marcocosta @rvag5 @fusroj @cashlane @borrowedearth @michaeljn @kchitrah @mitchhunter @nataliaeline @cherlianny @unknownphoton @unclefz @gardengranny @bettyamv @ghostwriter9 @wandrnrose7 @nancybriti @missladybug @shirophantomhive @rvag5 @ankitjnv @marvyinnovation @tommyl33 @gowealth @ustaadonline @daio @brightsun @mzubairch @lightestofideas @amit1995 @starapple @treodecimo @edinhazard @maxijgcomm @wasito @mariita52 @maroni55 @nataliaeline @ajtech2596 @keithf @wesleyvanderstel @grainsofsand @mariita52 @naijauser @castleirwell @juanmanuellopez1 @moghul @coolguy222 @newageinv @gowealth @blessed-girl @cruis @lexymaine @alokkumar121 @aceandnotes @darlenys01 @rafique1953 @marvyinnovation @wems @ajks @alaisguineasis @amnlive @kimmysomelove42 @praditya @tommyl33 @samryan @vickykarma @brightsun @oppongk @kryp70kn1gh7 @hobo.media @theticket @royer94 @mentalhealthguru @bradley028 @nummulshrma @steemmatt @maxijgcomm @maikelblogo @mrblu @nancymj @petervi @mcoinz79 @missabigail @saludoalalma @mcnestler @moarafatshow @gargi @luis402 @rem-steem @shahzadeh @sumon-ar-vines @naijauser @yantrax @josema.saborido @khan.dayyanz @shapescooper @aceofhearts @marcocosta @rvag5 @fusroj @cashlane @borrowedearth @michaeljn @kchitrah @mitchhunter @nataliaeline @cherlianny @unknownphoton @unclefz @gardengranny @bettyamv @ghostwriter9 @wandrnrose7 @nancybriti @missladybug @shirophantomhive @rvag5 @ankitjnv @marvyinnovation @tommyl33 @gowealth @ustaadonline @daio @brightsun @mzubairch @lightestofideas @amit1995 @starapple @treodecimo @edinhazard @maxijgcomm @wasito @mariita52 @maroni55 @nataliaeline @ajtech2596 @keithf @wesleyvanderstel @grainsofsand @mariita52 @naijauser @castleirwell
@isabelpereira @nulifeiq @royer94

Thanks All of You!!!!

Sort:  

that kind of community what you build is amazing to me, you are a admirable man.
I love when people write about personal development, while most of the rules are known to everyone, we just need a kick from someone like you :)
greetings <3

@shirophantomhive, thank you very much for your sweet and kind words, but that is exactly what I try to do every day since I started on steemit. Now I can start to see this community grow and I know it can grow more. I'm glad to see many voting in others and engaged in complementing with meaningful comments to further extend this Positive Mindest. I'm sure I'm building a community of people who already have their positive Mindset and we're also changing the Mindeset of many and soon I'll start posting many things that will be more straightforward about what we actually do so that people achieve their goals and grow every day.

Regards

Very good and motivated article. It inspired me a lot. Keep publishing more articles related to same. Thanks .
myspeedycash.us

Loading...

This factor of time management is almost known to everyone but it's not that easy to put it in practice.
It's a great reminder to us in how to be focused and productive in having a distraction-free and conducive working space.
A great help also for those who are starting to learn how to manage their time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes I tend to distract easily. Especially when I'm doing something that I do not like ... and I try to take away from me the things that can distract me but sometimes I fail. :(

Greetings of the day @chbartist

I read the previous article about time management where you discussed about distractions. That was really helpful article. Today's blog is in continuation of the previous one which is highly appreciated by me because it is very helpful to know about distractions.

The place where we work really effect us. If the environment is not familiar or sutable according to work. Then the place is really a big distractions. To avoid this we have to choose familiar place which is s related to our work. So out mind don't get distracted.

Thanks for this helpful article about time management.

Regards,
@ajks

@chbartist sir!
The most important factor for time management is how we set goals and how to achieve them. Most of us determine long-term goals. But when the time comes to fulfill the goal, they get distracted by their path and go astray from their goal. That's why we should manage the timely management of the day, due to which the day-to-day work will be complicated on the same day and move on to the next goal.
The first staircase of change is the heart. The second is our brain. The increase in the positive direction of these two changes the fate itself.
🙏🙏I request you to accept as member of our community to my frnd @crypto.piotr and add him community list so that he can find notification.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @certain

Great comment. I fully agree that it's super difficult to stick to long-term goals.

I tend to write them down and re-write every 2-3 days. So my goals would haunt me even when I sleep :)

ps. Ive noticed that you're very responsive and supportive so I will delegate 40SP to you tomorrow. Im trying to focus on helping those who blog about crypto but Im impressed with your attitude here and I will be happy to support you :)

Yours
Piotr

Surround yourself with the elements of peace and clarity to provide the ability to engage with your mind in a better state. The reality is that this becomes very difficult as the presence of distractions are always present but if you do it with purpose, it could be achieved.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That aint looking like a workspace, looks more like an infinite paper black hole ....

@chbartist Thanks to write such type of blog. On time management we can say "time management is life management ". We can't ignore it tha distraction is main enemy of success but I can't if we make a mindset towards our. Goal then no can stop us . If anyone can stop your success path that is only you and only you. "I can ..I will"
@ankitjnv

Hi @chbartist thanks for sharing. Yes is good to everyone of us to manage our time because time is something that is very tangible .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51