Unplugged from Facebook...now what?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I decided today was the day I reclaim certain things I value greatly and feel I have lost.

I joined Facebook about a year ago for activism purposes only to find out that it is completely useless due to censorship by the platform itself. This is no surprise but discouraging nonetheless.

All my participation in these social media gulags has taught me is that apathy even amongst the "woke" is rampant and that nobody cares about finding solutions, they all seem content to just complain about the never ending chain of injustices while looking to others (usually agents of the corruption) to bring relief to that actual issues. Its always either that or they're just out to make names for themselves. Either way, I've had enough of it. Just like with all other things I don't agree with, I am refusing to participate and will be speaking out against it wherever I am whenever it's relevant.

There are so many issues that need addressed that it's overwhelming to me when there are new scandals and indignities thrusted in my face everyday. I need to take a step back and be able to prioritize my concerns, gather my thoughts and the info that supports those thoughts. Currently, my mind is a jumbled mess of a thousand things that I feel all deserve my full attention. There are all connected in some way or another but because of the multitude of the issues, I can't express how besides simply saying it is an antihuman agenda designed to enslave as many people as possible. By keeping us confused, keeping us sick, keeping us ignorant, keeping us poor and doing so to keep the focus on our own problems and off of the big picture being played out in front of all of us.

This concept may be larger in scope than my own personal ability to describe adequately but I am confident many who may read this know exactly what I'm talking about here. Our guts tell us there is an underlying wrongness with the world we live in even if we can't necessarily point to a specific cause for the feeling. Things are consistently getting worse, our freedoms eroding with each new law passed, prices of goods continually rise while our means of paying for them are stripped from us via automation in the work place, jobs being sent elsewhere and stagnat wages. But yet, we continue to tolerate such. For what reason? To be left alone? We're not. To avoid conflict? We aren't allowed. To go along to get along? How are you getting along these days? When we're all connected, which we are, where one suffers we all suffer...which we also are.

It is my perspective that social media only serves to isolate us further from each other while giving the impression that it does the opposite. Meaningful communication isn't promoted. Instead we are reduced to "likes" and short statements of either confirmation or disagreement. False reports meant to sway public opinion this way or that are spread like a plague of propaganda furthering the confusion of a public that has already lost it's way morally and intellectually.

This is why I am unplugging and recommend anyone reading this do the same.

Sort:  

Congratulations @charyoutree! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @charyoutree! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68652.07
ETH 3861.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70