5 Life quotes from Hunter S. Thompson that fascinates me !

in #life7 years ago

2365675208_5185895b68.jpg

As a first post on Steemit i would like to do a tribute to Hunter S. Thompson because of all of his influence on my life, thats why today, i will post some of his quotes because i think they deserve a special attention in our troubled times. I will give you my own interpretation of his words and what they mean to me.

4238511559_f5e4edf9e9_b.jpg

1 - “A man who procrastinates in his choosing will inevitably have his choice made for him by circumstance.”

My thought: I think this is very accurate at this time, people don't seems to be interested in the way politics are made, the overall sentiment is that we can't do nothing about the situations our communities lives in. People are getting desperate and have gone from anger to acceptation, some can definitely impose a soft dictatorship in our developed countries and the majority would stay silent and accept choices made by others.

2 - “I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me.”

My thought: I think in this one, the question is about the limit. Who on planet earth sets the limits ? Hunter loved to push people to a point that they never knew before, verbal violence, i think, was one of his many ways to destabilize people and get them react with their hearts so they can be true and not be hypocrites. For drugs and alcohol, it was quite clear that Thompson liked to shock people with his behavior and drugs were the ultimate taboo in society at the time, people were fascinated by a man who took drugs and alcohol all day long and was so productive.

3 - “Anything that gets your blood racing is probably worth doing.”

4 - “Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!”

My thought: If i had a giant ad to plant right in front of my house so that i can see it every morning, i would print these words on it. Life is short and we need to overcome certain fears to go forward in our lives, confrontation is always a better choice than cowardice.

5 - “I would feel real trapped in this life if I didn't know I could commit suicide at any time.”

My thought: I finish with this one that is really special to me because at a time it helped me to see a light at the end of the tunnel in a difficult situation i had, everything was really bad and i made some big mistakes, these words made me understand that problems are close to nothing when you compare them with the beauty and simplicity of life in general. Everything is a giant story, you wake up in the morning to contribute to the dreams of others, every little thing in our daily lives is a fairytale, YOU and only YOU decide when this whole thing ends and that's the beauty of the thing when talking about suicide. Only you can decide when you're going to die, you can decide to live it all along or stop it right now (after replying and upvoting my post ;D) and no amount of money or anything else is gonna stop you doing this, i think this is the ultimate act of freedom, even if some people won't like it, to have a stop button at our disposal.

Here we are, i hoped you enjoyed the ride in Thompson's words and in my distorted mind !

2000px-Gonzo.svg.png

Follow me & upvote friends ! ;)
Charlyy

Sort:  

Great first post. Hunter is soooooooo cool!

Thank you sallybeth23, it's very encouraging ! I agree with you Hunter was a really great writer and i think he deserve much more attention from the public ;)

Congratulations @charlyftw! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23