Why YOU Should Start Shopping at Charity Shops!

in #life7 years ago

Hello all. So today I'm going to be talking about charity shops and why I think that not enough people are shopping at them. The reason I was inspired to write this post today was because this morning I met a friend of mine in our village. We had made no plans of what we were to do, so I assumed we'd just be having a nice walk and a catch up. She suggested we actually had a browse around some of our local charity shops, as we have a few in our village. Being a keen shopaholic myself, I immediately agreed to the idea.

The two shops that we had a look around were The Children's Society (and another, the name of which has completely escaped my mind). My friend ended up buying a total of six items which came up to just under £30. She got such great deals for the clothes that she purchased. I'm sure that if she'd brought them full price, the total would have added up to over £100, AND the money all goes to charity! Although I saw a couple of bits and bobs that I'd have loved to have taken home with me, sadly I wasn't able to afford anything EVEN at those low prices because I am currently paying for driving lessons.

I often wonder why more people don't shop at Charity shops. I think some people don't like the idea of wearing other people's second hand things. But I don't see this as a problem. I had a friend who volunteered at Oxfam last year and she told me that they wash or double wash if necessary all the clothes that they receive. So all the clothes are clean and look almost brand new. Yes not everything might be to your taste, but if you look hard enough then you can find some amazing deals.

I've known people who've found expensive Jack Will's jumpers or Ugg boots that they've purchased for below £10. And it's not just clothes that you can buy. It's a great way of finding cheap, old DVDs or books. A lot of the shops sell these sort of items for about a pound. You just can't go wrong. Obviously I'm not saying that you should go and buy your entire wardrobe from charity shops, but maybe have a good selection between them and your average high street store, especially if you're running low on money.

I hope you all enjoyed this post. If you did please give it an upvote, comment, follow and resteem as it would really help me out. As always, have a wonderful day everyone where ever you are in the world! Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Upvoted! You've got nice charity shops over there. Which country is this in? Here in Asia, we only have 1 or 2 charity shops are they're not really a proper shop that you have over there. And this is why I think here, we don't go to charity shops to buy things.

Yes we do! It's the UK. Oh I see, I'm sorry to hear that. If you ever have time or money, you should definitely come and visit us here in the Uk, I think you'd love it!

Yes. I do hope to visit U.K. too! And maybe meet some steemians. As for the cash, I hope steemit can be of help!

Very good post Charlie!! I try to get to charity shops here when I am out and about. They usually have some awfully good prices. I once bought a very nice recliner chair for about $10 USD, it was in excellent condition and had I bought it new I feel certain it would have been well over $300 USD!! Plus, as you said, it helps a charity, which is a very good thing.

Oh wow, I've had some good deals but nothing that good! I'll have to keep looking!

We are very fortunate here to have a charity shop that helps developmental disabled people and folks here are quite generous with their donations. If they get new furniture for example they will donate their old stuff, which usually is in pretty good shape. I got pretty lucky on that recliner, it had just been donated or I probably would not have got it because it would have certainly sold fast to someone else.

Not to mention the good it does to recycle and employ, rehabilitate & sometimes educate. I love finding things to repurpose & books for my kids to read then donate again.

Of-course, yes it's such a better way of getting things resused rather than just throwing them away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65680.50
ETH 2657.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88