Strangest Customers - Working In Retail!

in #life7 years ago

Hello all, so today I'm going to tell you about the struggles one comes across when working in retail - awkward customers. Now you get them in every form of retail, whether that's in Top shop, or simply your local corner shop. I've had a years experience of working in a shoe shop (which you will know if you've read some of my posts before). During my time working there, I have had my fair share of awkward and utterly bizarre customers and today I'm going to be telling you about a few.

  1. Shoe sniffer

Not so long ago, a woman came into our store wanting shoes for her son to try on. I brought up a couple of different options and before he tried them on, she had to smell the inside of every shoe to check that it wasn't too potent. I mean.... just why!

  1. The classic - try on 10 pairs of shoes, buy the first ones you tried on

I've had many customers who have put me through this. They ask to try on a number of different shoes, making me walk up and down and up and down flights of stairs to get to the stock room only to buy the first one they tried on. Or, worst case scenario: I do all this, spending a long time with this customer and they buy NOTHING - or they ask to put the shoes on hold, but I kid you not, they NEVER come back!

  1. The woman who refused to have her son measured

So we do a measuring service at our store which might I add is free. Most parents want their children measured so they can find out exactly what size their kid is, however this one particular woman refused to let me do it! She guessed her son's size and when he tried on the shoes in that size, it was a good few sizes off. I mean, the shoes were massive on him! Despite all this, she still refused to have her son's feet measured and he went home empty handed.

I hope you enjoyed reading some of these funny stories from my experiences working in retail. Let me know in the comments down below if you have any funny work related stories! Please upvote, resteem and follow me as it would really help me out. As always, thanks so much for reading and hope you all have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59