How to pass your driving theory test FIRST TIME ROUND!

in #life7 years ago

Hello all, so today I wanted to give anyone who is currently in the process of learning to drive or is thinking about it, a few tips and tricks on how to pass your theory (UK) first time round. The reason I've chosen to write about this topic is because I actually took my test this morning and some how managed to pass first time round. If I'm being completely honest I didn't think I would and was completely shocked when I received my results. It took a couple of my friends a few attempts to pass this test, which I imagine would have been a bit of a pain and expensive.

The first thing I'd advise to do is practice, practice, practice. It seems obvious, but you honestly can't practice enough. There are many ways that you can revise for your test. These include:

  • Downloading the official driving theory app.
  • Doing past papers which can be found on the app or online for free.
  • Getting parents or friends to test you on road signs every time you're out and about in the car.
  • Reading the highway code and knowing it inside out.

A lot of the questions on the paper are easy and straight forward, however they do throw in a bunch of harder questions as well. For this reason it is highly unlikely that you can do well in this test without putting the work in. As well as this, the pass rate is extremely high: I believe it's something like 90% for a pass.

Now i don't want to end this post here as I feel that it's rather short. Instead I'm going to tell you a bit about my driving theory test experience so that you know what to expect.
I actually arrived pretty early as I didn't know exactly where the test centre was. And let me tell you, it wasn't easy to find. Once I'd eventually entered the building, I was told that I may not be able to take my test as there had been a failure within the computer systems. This irritated me a bit as I'd got up very early and had cycled in especially for this. Thankfully they managed to fix everything so that myself and the rest of the group could take our tests.
You are actually given just under an hour to complete the first part of your test, however i found that this was far too much time. A lot of people were also finishing early, but I guess it's better to have more time than you need rather than not enough.

Obviously I'm only half way to getting my license. I still need to take my practical driving test, which I am by no means anywhere near ready. I'll probably write a post about how this goes nearer to the time. If you enjoyed this post, please make sure you uproot, comment, follow and resteem. As always guys, thanks for reading and have a lovely day! (The image used in this post was from http://www.roadcodepractice.co.nz

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 19.49.10.png

Sort:  

Good post and well done. It's worth mentioning the pass marks. You need 43/50 on the questions and 55/75 on the hazard perception videos. Practice really is key. Those question bank websites are a god send. While the answer to 80% of the questions can be derived from common sense, the remaining 20% are fact-based, requiring you to know certain things, like stopping distances. Without that knowledge and preparation, most people will almost certainly fail.

I did a hell of a lot of practice, but it paid off: I'm currently the top scorer at my local test centre (50/50 on the questions and 74/75 on the hazard perception videos).

Really good post Charlie!! I remember my driving tests, both written and road tests even though they were more than 40 years ago. They were tough!! I did very well on both, but like you, I did a lot of studying and practicing. Really, practicing is the key to anything we do that we want to be successful at, practice makes perfect!! Keep practicing!!

good blog - i live in Sydney and now follow you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67801.51
ETH 2617.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72