Why shooting sports can bring us together

in #life7 years ago

Let me start by saying this, I have been an avid shooter my entire life, so I am going to be a little biased when explaining this idea here. Wherever you stand on the whole issue of guns in America, or in the world for that matter, please read this short post in its entirety, and maybe at the end of it you'll understand my thought process here.

As I mentioned, I have been an avid shooter my entire life, I was raised around firearms, mainly in the sense of hunting, but as I grew older, I enjoyed more and more the sporting aspect of shooting, as well as appreciating the self defense and constitutional aspects of firearm ownership. Overall, I find that, if used responsibly, guns can be used to bring people of all descents together, as many other sports do. Allow me to explain.

Shooting guns, especially for ones first time, is no doubt an exhilarating experience. Whether its shooting a .50 BMG or a .22 LR, there is a sense of nervousness that is present when one pulls the trigger of a firearm for the first time. That being said, the large majority of the time after that first shot, the entire shooting experience changes from great nervousness into a great sense of awe and wonder. There is just something about knowing that you are controlling a device that hurtles projectiles nearly three times the speed of sound at a target that you cannot be put into words. Even with a .22 LR, plinking bottles and watching them fall over is something that I've done many times to have fun with people that I don't share many interests with. Also for people that enjoy shooting, just like sports, it opens a window for conversation that can lead into great friendships, something that I have personally experienced.

If you have never shot a gun, I highly suggest you learn first the 4 cardinal rules of gun safety, then grab a couple friends, go to a range, start out small with a .22, then work your way up to whatever you like! I guarantee, if practiced responsibly, shooting sports can be a great way to bring people together that would not normally be together.

Feel Free to Follow!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit.
I hope you are enjoying this great platform.I have followed you.Please follow me @magneticvibes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64