Korea blog part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

So a very heavily delayed part 2 for my blog in South Korea. This first month has been exhausting, exciting, stressful and fun all at once. Basically I have been busier than ever before, but finally my life is my own again, and time to get back to doing what I love!

Again for the support on my last and first post, I was very touched, so here goes:

After spending a few days in Daegu (대구) with my sister in law, it was time to head to Andong (안동) our final destination and our home for the next year.

Untitled.jpg

On arriving in Andong the first thing we did was eat one of my favourite meals: Gamja-tang (감자탕)

IMG_20180715_190851.jpg
Gamja-tang

This is basically a Korean spicy soup made from a pig’s spine and/or neck bones, cellophane noodles, sesame seeds, potatoes, Korean radish, perilla leaves (pretty much Sesame, but better!)

IMG_20180715_185705-COLLAGE.jpg
My sister in law and my two nieces with even more dishes!

Most Koreans are surprised I love it so much, as most westerns get put off by the description. But it’s a must try and one of the cheaper meal options in a country that seems to get rapidly more expensive every year.

We then headed to my brother in law, his wife and family’s apartment/flat. Off course more food was enjoyed, as well as some local alcohol: Dong Dong Ju (동동주), this again was a gift for me, as I love it so much. The dong dong Ju, as with most alcohol over here is made with rice.

20180716_204401.jpg
I have never know a country that loves to eat so much

The food was Hoe (회), basically Sashimi, they use the words interchangeably here. Raw octopus and squid. Twigim (튀김) again basically tempura (but they would kill me for saying that).
Also some Sundae (순대), this again a favorite (I know I have lots!), their version of scottish haggis, but instead pig intestines (most places uses synthetic stuff now), noodles and pigs blood. Depending on the region it main contain other ingredients including rice. It also always comes with a side of liver and usually with pigs ear and cow heart.

I hope I haven’t grossed out the less adventurous of you, but I swear Korean food is my favorite in the world. Quality is so important here, and everything really fresh.

In a further blog I will cover the more popular dishes better catered to western tastes, that are equally as amazing, promise :)

Being so new, followers, retweets and upvotes more than welcome.

Sort:  

I have to say that the Gamja-tang doesn't look too appealing, my wife may like it though coming from the far east.

Let me know what she thinks. I know the descriptions and pictures may not be to everyones taste, but they are great... honest guv ;)

Korea has a knack of making the less popular animal parts/cuts taste delicious. This comes from a history of being quite a poor country. At some point I intend on writing a few articles on certain specific examples, and how they came to be used. I particular like their pig trotters.

My wife likes those trotters too. You can get them here but need to ask a butchers. I know what you mean about the animal parts/cuts. She eats fish brains... shudder.

Congratulations @chaomos! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56