Why I chose the Unreal Engine 4 for my upcoming game.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Well, it goes back to the spring of 2014. I had been part of the Coin2 Crypto Currency for a couple months.At the time they were using Unity for their game Chain Of Conflict. Well one of the devs decided to change to Unreal Engine 4. When I heard this I was interested. I have kinda known one of the people who work for Epic Games. I had met him back in 2008. So I went to their youtube. I started watching their weekly community streams. Learning everything I could. At the time it Cost $20.00 usd a month to use it. I couldn't afford it at the time. Being unemployed do to my health. 

So I continued to watch the stream, and watch their older videos. Learning as much about it as I could. Well when some shakeup happened with Coin2 in the summer of 2014. I was brought on as a media person. Creating ads/video and such. Then I moved into getting to finally play with the engine, thanks to Kalisto. I didn't have a good machine, since Unreal 4 is a massive powerful game engine. 

The big thing about why I love the engine, is you don't need to know how to program. Programming is such a complicated thing for me ,I'm sure a lot of people agree. Math is not much fun, unless you get to count some money. Unreal has a cool way of programming which is called visual programming, called Blueprints.  Where you attach nodes with wires to other nodes. Which you can see in the below image. 

It's still kinda complicated, yet so much fun to learn. With the months that came, things shook up some more in our Coin2 world, and then it came down to just me and @kingarbinv as Chain Of Conflict devs. King wanted to go back to Unity. He is not comfortable with Unreal. And knows Unity so much better. So I took a lesser role on Chan Of Conflict. I move into working on my game Coin Quest: Dark Stakes on the side. Which I kept using Unreal. Sadly I didn't have a great computer at the time to really even use the engine. So I mainly worked on art, story and concepts and small experiments with the engine. I ran several crowdfunding campaigns with no success, for a better computer. So I continued to learn as much as possible with what I had. 

2015 was the year of many changes. Epic Games, who created the Unreal Engine. Announced at 2015 GDC (Game Developers Conference) Unreal Engine is now FREE! This was great news, the funny thing was I had just purchased a subscription to it. Epic Games was awesome, they gave everyone a 30.00 credit to use in their marketplace. Also refunded the 20.00 to paypal. Which was a classy move. 

In the summer of 2015, I finally got a better computer. It's still not that beefy. It's a iMac, a friend of mine gave it to me as a gift. It's powerful enough for me to work with the engine. After some health issues, they are slowly getting better. Mainly I got tendonitis in my writing hand, and I have scarred corneas. So my vision is terrible Which is amazing I can even photograph things. I don't let these obstacles stop me. I keep moving forward. I will be sharing my process for creating Coin Quest in the coming weeks. So stay tuned. 

Here is a few videos showcasing the power of the Unreal Engine 4. I hope you like them. 

Unreal Engine 4 Sizzle Real 2016 GDC

This Video Shows The Power of Unreal Engine 4, being able to do real time rendered human motion capture. 

This Is The Kite Demo That Was Released At GDC 2015, symbolizing Unreal Engine Being Free!


Thanks for taking your time to view my images, clicking the follow button, and upvoting. 

I really do appreciate it.   

Please don't forget to follow me on Twitter Click Here!  

Follow me on Steemit, Click Here!  

Sort:  

NEVERDIE ICO is LIVE.
The first block chain based Virtual Reality gaming crypto! NEVERDIE coin will allow monetizing the game items in real cash economy game Entropia Universe. NOW game player can cash out their in-game money earned by playing game and can exchange NEVERDIE coin with other ERC20 tokens such as Gnosis, Golem, and Frist Blood.
https://neverdie.io/

Thx for pointing this out, I am a gamedev and software developer for about 15 years now, I use 2 engine mainly, UE4 and Unity, now also Godot.

Thats awesome. I have been gone from steemit for awhile. Now I'm back and things are going to get fun! :)

I might dig out my copy of unreal and learn some on it, no big deal to me, I just know unity better. I had spent so much time learning landscaping and how the programming fit into unity I just wasn't ready to switch and we already had multiplayer working on one version of the game, and kalisto told me he couldnt get it to work on unreal. That was the reason I switched back to unity, I knew one day I could just copy his code from that older version and make things work. =D

I agree, one has to use what they are strong at. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26