You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Slowing Down - The Wisdom of the Tortoise

in #life6 years ago

I actually try to practice this when working out. I also do a lot of breathing exercises but it is really hard for me to stay focused. my mind wanders too much. It takes a lot of practice

Sort:  

I hear you - it's a real practice...playing with slowing down. It's like this game of 're-starting'...catching ourselves in our drifts...and also playing with the 'streaks' of momentum.

I reminded right now of this technique Einstein use to use. It was an exercise that he said his conscious mind didn't like because it was this structural point of 'restarting' and 'making note of'.

What he did specifically was this:

Einstein wanted to be able to read without losing focus. To keep going in taking info without drifting into random thinking. To challenge himself on this point....he started using a stop watch and a piece of paper and pen/pencil. Everytime he drifted in his thinking....he would jot down the time on the paper...and start the stop watch over again. His finding's were that by staying disciplined with this structured approach...his conscious mind did not like this exercise....so inadvertently he learned to stay on point and build his endurance and stamina to 'focus' without drifting off in mind.

thanks for laying that out for me. I would hate that too. I forgot what it is called but I have tried to do things in 20 minute shifts. Do a task like opening emails, reading, or really anything but do it for only 20 minutes then stop. Then start another and keep going like that. The point is to do only that task for the 20 minutes. Dont' wander. It works ok but I tend to watch the clock which is technically wandering lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70