Emigration and living in another country

in #life6 years ago

Have you ever lived in another country? I'm not talking about a week or two-week vacation but a longer stay?

Two years ago, I moved to the UK, to Edinburgh.

I left here for several different reasons. But the most important of them was the desire to see another world and find the answer to the question of who I am and what I want to do in life.
To achieve this, I decided to change my life completely. I moved to a different country, I cut off a bit from my friends and current life. Not because I did not like it, but everything started to weigh on me and I had to calm down my thoughts a bit and clean my mind.
abroad.jpg
During my studies, I was unable to go on Erasmus or internship abroad for several reasons.
So I organized it myself and just go abroad without any plan.

I do not regret this decision.

I think that moving to the UK was one of the better decisions in my life. It was only here that I saw how life can be totally different in apparently very close European countries. I understood how much I still have to learn about life. Actually, I still do not know too much about it. I started to learn a new profession and design my own life from the beginning.

Without any shame or guilt


Living abroad brings a lot of pluses and minuses. However, the interesting thing is that everyone sees it differently.
For me, of course, the plus is that I can work less for a living. Therefore, I have more time to learn, develop myself and programming skills.
On the other hand, I work in gastronomy which is totally not my dream. But I know that I am doing this for a bigger purpose.
I do not see my family and friends too often. But on the other hand, thanks to this, I appreciate it a hundred times more, that I have them and try to use every moment spent with them.
Being far from friends, I find out who I really care about and who care about me. It's not just partying and fun that matter here but the actual relationship and what unites me with some.
I can devote myself fully to achieving my goals. On the other hand, why should I do this if I can not share successes with many people close to me?

Each rod has two ends and each sword has two edges!


I could mention pros and cons without end, but it seems to me that you know what I mean.
edinburgh.jpg
I recommend to everyone at least once to go abroad for a longer time. It's a school of life. Some would call it leaving the comfort zone. Maybe it's good name. You will see then that everywhere you can build a new life and learn about yourself better.

Edinburgh is beautiful!. But today I know that this place is not my destination and it won't be my home It is just a stop on a long route which is called life. Who knows where life will take me. I am sure that to many beautiful places.

What about You? Would you like to live in a completely different place?
Or maybe move to another city is already a big deal?
Let me know in the comments what you think!

Sort:  

So where are you originally from? :)
I know exactly how you feel. We moved to Edinburgh 4 years ago and I am so glad we did that. It was so hard at the beginning (we moved with 2 kids), but after 2 years of hard work we settled down and we are finally enjoying our life. The fact that i can work less for living is big plus for me. i dont want to spend my life at work for small money, i have too many interesting hobbies for that :D
just the weather could be slightly better, but i guess people dont move to scotland because of that :D

Hi :) From Poland. Yeah. I like Edinburgh very much but I think that I would like to see some more places and try to live there. Weather is not the big problem for me, more for my girlfriend :D. I think that if there was still the sun outside the window, it would be even harder for me to work. Just like in warm countries :)

I'm from Scotland - and I've never lived anywhere else, except London for a while. But I have travelled a lot.
I think it's very brave to move to a new country, especially on your own. Edinburgh is a great city, but I hope you get to see more of Scotland and the UK while you're here :)

Yea. I love Highlands and any Mountains so sometimes we go for a small trip there. I saw couple English cities too, but Edinburgh is totally different from most of them.

So courageous! I've never lived away from home. I only forest traveled out of the country (US) for the first time last year, and I thought THAT was brave. Lol.

I do not know if it was brave. But I know that if I did not do it, I would regret this my entire life. I forgot to write about it: p How long had you traveled?

Last year I went to Israel for 10 days, it was amazing but short. This past Sept, I took a 30 day Sabbatical and took a road trip of the US with my best friend--trip of a lifetime!

Completely unrelated question: are you in any discord groups? I notice that not a lot of people are seeing your posts. You can make friends and promote your posts in these groups so your stuff can get seen.

Hi. No I am not. I do not know what it is :) Can you send me some Info? And should I add then any banners or links to my posts to promote them or something? I do not want to do that :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30