A friend of my past

in #life6 years ago

I dedicate this post to an elementary classmate.

We weren't very close but at some point in my life, you were my friend.

By the time I knew, I was dumbfounded. I pinched myself thinking that maybe this is all a dream. Then, I overheard some information about you and at that moment, I know that we had the same situation, but the difference is that I am still alive.

Sometimes I would see you at our old school, smiling. Oh god, I was jealous of you because I always wanted to smile so freely and yours was the perfect epitome of it.

I never knew that you were also troubled.

Depressed.

Empty.

You asked for help but no one took it seriously.

So you just kept silent. You kept it. You hid it.

But you couldn't take it anymore so you wanted to rest.

In the end, everyone blamed their own self, telling their own self that they should have done something.

I did too. I asked myself, why didn't I do anything to save you?

I was too late.

We were all too late.

Then, I promise you that I'll live.

We'll live. I'll help your friends live.

At the end of the journey, expect a mountain of stories to tell you.

You fought well. Rest in Peace.

We miss you, J.M.J.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52