You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Short Career As A Semi-Professional, Now Washed Up, Poker Player

in #life6 years ago

Used to play poker myself too as a youngster (too young in fact, luckily I eventually got my money out without giving credentials). Obviously one shouldn't gamble, especially when under aged, but what can you do when you get that "sparkle" for a thing and get obsessed over it: read books and online articles, watch Youtube videos and livestreams of major tournaments at night and go to school the following day without any sleep (gosh, I don't know how I did that, would never happen again).

I started with freeroll tournaments, and actually the majority of my profits came from those (didn't deposit any, so no credentials given, haha. Kids, do not take this as an advice, may not work in every site. Wait until 18 to at least not get your money freezed if not lost with gambling.) I played cash games too, but didn't make huge profits in those.

The last moments with poker before eventually getting bored for the grinding, I tried to become profitable in Omaha cash games (this was a time when I was 18 with a new legit account, still didn't deposit any though) and man, there was some crazy action in those games. Eventually even made several hundred euros or so on the course of those few years which I invested in crypto.

It was always one big emotional roller coaster but it leaved me with good memories of few tournament wins and me once running to my friend because Internet crashed while I was at the final table of a 5€ buy-in Omaha tournament in the middle of a major hand already committed but never getting to click 'All-in' soon enough :D
Sadly I got blinded out before I got back online but I still hanged there long enough with two more people still losing before me.

Sort:  

The thing is, the more you climb the ladder, the more repetitive and boring the games become, only to be interrupted once in a while by a 5 digit pot. So, yeah the grind can get really boring, especially if you don't make enough progress.

The last incident you mentioned would probably tilt me off the face of the earth, GEEZ.

I lost this hand last week. All you can do is focus on what you have control over!
wsop aaa 999 2018.jpg

Mate you should tag this pic NFSW& #128514;

(AA is mindfuck of a hand. Generally, I just try to end it preflop or at least not let them see the flop for free)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89