What is a promotional model anyway?

in #life7 years ago

If you read my #introduceyourself post, I mention that I am a model, in addition to pursuing acting and film work. Most of the work is lifestyle modeling or promotional, but what does that even mean? I’ll break it down.

The tall, slender women with legs for days and serious faces are runway models. I can barely scrape in with my height and weight for that, but I’m more suited to campaigns for regular products, rather than high fashion. The closest to haute couture that I usually get is a hair show, where I dress up in a gown and heels while a stylist cuts, dyes, or styles my hair for an audience.


Backstage at a hair show, 2015

“Lifestyle” modeling focuses on hiring people who look more realistic to advertise everyday items or businesses. For example, I’ve been in a Visine commercial and in a catalogue for Pressbox, a brand of university-themed clothing. I was selected for these because I look like a person with eyes and a college student. These types of gigs are the most fun, in my opinion, because I get to shoot and also have plenty of downtime to talk to the other people on set.


Me (left) and another model in the Pressbox Spring 2017 catalogue

“Promotional” modeling is more involved. We get hired to go to festivals, grand openings, conventions, and more to set up a booth and promote a product in person. I’ve done this mostly for Pepsi brand drinks. For example, this weekend, I’m the team lead for a promotion at a festival called Taste of Charlotte, where we’re giving out samples of a new drink called Sparkling OH!

There’s more work involved, because we have to memorize facts about the product and be able to answer questions. Sometimes, patrons will also rant to us about the presence of sugar or artificial sugar in the drinks, which we politely endure. Overall, people are appreciative of the chance to get a free sample and try something new. These events are usually very lively, and the one this weekend includes live music, games, and food samples.


My team giving out samples of the new drink! 2017

Because I’m the team lead, I also have to keep the operation running smoothly. There are lots of details to stay on top of, like keeping track of the amount of samples given out, making sure there’s always enough ice to keep the drinks cold, and keeping track of the “assets” like the tent and signage for our booth.

On my own, I also sometimes do “trade shoots” for pictures. These are photoshoots where the photographer and model “trade” services by shooting together without either one paying the other. That way, both parties (or more, if there’s a makeup artist or hair stylist involved) get good pictures to add to their portfolios.

5D3_8988.jpg
Photo by Ron Tencati, Hair and Makeup by Ashley Brodie, trade shoot 2015

I’ve been told that I seem really “chill” or “down to earth for a model” and I think there are misconceptions about the job. Of course the finished product of a shoot and the nontraditional hours make the lifestyle seem glamorous, but there’s plenty of real work involved. Models may seem lofty from a distance, but they are part of the workforce and economy just like everyone else.

xo,

Cecilia :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @ceciliakeirstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

wow....... very beautifull

Thank you! This reminds me that I have to shout out photographers everywhere, because a good photographer will capture the most beautiful version of you.

Beautiful photos. I love the hair in the first one.

Thank you! That was during my first hair show, where the stylists did 4-minute style performances. They would turn on a 4-minute song, whip out the combs and hair products, and come out with a hairstyle like the one in the picture. It was amazing how much they could do in so little time.

That's pretty amazing.... I'm still working on learning how to french braid my hair! :P LOL

I mean, hey, you've got to start somewhere!

What a cool graphic! Thanks :)

not at all.. it's good you posted this on facebook, i didn't miss.

Wow! You look soo stunning in this red dress! xX

Thank you! It was actually my prom dress, and we wanted to show it off. Since then, I've had more photographers ask me about shooting in that dress because it has so many layers and can photograph so well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50