What to do When You're 24 And Don't Know What to Do With Yourself.

in #life7 years ago

As the title reads, you probably already know that the guy writing this is the typical under-achieving, 5 and a half year senior in college that absolutely has no freaking clue what to do with his life. Like, do I throw in the towel, drop out of college, and pick up a typical sales career and make a decent wage, yet wanting to blow my brains out every second I sit behind a desk, on the phone, repeating the same pitch over and over to people that hate me for even calling them? Or do I stay in college, finish out this seemingly wasted 5 plus years of my life, pay a few more thousand dollars that I don't have, and collect this piece of paper they call a diploma, and hope that I find the true "passion of my life", because without that diploma I won't, as my parents and other "educated elders" say, go anywhere. To be honest... I have no freaking idea what I want, who I want, where I want to be, I just know I don't want the "blow my brains out sales job" and honestly I don't want to spend another dime learning about Copernicus. I don't want any of that. Honestly a few months ago, I was about to settle and "do what I was told" get the diploma and get a regular 9 to 5 job. That was until I stumbled across this world of crypto currencies. I didn't even know what the hell those were, or what they could do with your' life. But one thing I do know, is that in two months, I have made more money than both my parents combined over the same amount of time. They say this is all fake and imaginary, well tell that to the 20 grand I just deposited in my bank account dad. And ya I still don't know what I want to do, where I want to go, who I want to be around, but when I do finally figure those things out....I'll have nothing holding me back.

Sort:  

@cdj611 I feel you so hard here man. I spent 6.5 years in college and dropped out 6 months before graduating. I could have been a doctor. But you know what? I HATED MY FUCKING LIFE. And I was going down a path that was not of my choosing. It was the path that the world around chose for me. When I finally came to terms with that I put my foot down and said "this is NOT me...and I will NOT live a shitty same-ol bullshit life".

So I ditched that old life and created a new one. I will say this: it's been hard as hell but 100% worth it. I've grown so much and explored parts of myself that I would have never explored had I stayed bounds to the constrictions of society.

You have to realize that when you're in school and you don't get a break to experience the real world, you are actually living in a cultured environment. It isn't real. It's so distant from reality. And when you get out its like you feel like you were in a prison the whole time.

That was my experience. Had to share that as I really can relate. If I were you I would say, take those crypto earnings and go explore. If traveling is something that interests you, go do that. Go alone. Explore yourself. Get away from your home town. Get away from your parents. You won't find yourself when you're around anyone that snaps you back into "kid" mode.

That's my two cents. Hope it helps man. And this article might help too: Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid

thanks for the post, I think i will travel. just need to earn more.

Happy journeys man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46