I Miss you... Dedication

in #life7 years ago


Grandfather I want to Thank You, Today you'd be 100 Happy Birthday

For those of you that don't know me, I'm what you call a statistic I grew up in poverty, no food, parents were junkies and gone, a few orphanages here and there but through out my child hood from about 5 until right around 14 years old or so there was always that one person who fought for me even in to his elderly age and that was my Grand father he was a tough German man, and even have being someone whose been blown up, shot, stabbed, you name it I can probably relate there was no pain even custody court the pain it caused like the pain I had to lose this man. It was Jan 10th 1997 I got off a school bus and I saw all of the neighbors at the house with 2 ambulances, a fire truck, and two cop cars me and my 3 brothers and sister ran down the street as I pushed through the cops and other people I can recall sitting down next to him and asking him whats wrong, he just looked at me and said, " Papa has to go bye bye Steven, I love you you know that right? I then watched his eyes roll back and the cops pulled me out of there and a lot of people were crying . You see growing up in a neighborhood primarily African American with maybe 2 other white people, the community though it maybe poor and rough still finds ways to come together people knew that this man would give his life for children, color never mattered you bothered one kid and then you had him to deal with.. when he left I lost faith in everything and I was scared I didn't want to go back to a home and lose my siblings again but most importantly I had just lost my best friend, my parent, my grand parent, and truthfully the One person that really taught me what it meant to love someone. By all means Im not some Super god believer but I do believe in a higher power I felt so betrayed that day is what caused me to become the youngest person to ever hold a pro am boxing title, that day taught me I could use pain as a tool, or weapon, that day also showed me that I had a job to finish up for him.. and that was to go against all odds, they say coming from my home, or neighborhood I should be an addict, drug dealer, in prison, a criminal... But fuck statistics, right? Today I can look back and Love where I came from, and love the things I've gotten both materialistic and not all because of this old man. So I'm going to finish this post up with a song that for some reason makes me recall every memory of him. Grandpa I miss you, I think about you and I even tell my children the same things you taught me THROUGH EVERY DARK NIGHT, THERE IS A BRIGHT DAY. Thank you for giving me the tools I needed. Much Love Steven Carter.


I know this isn't your style of music, but this young man Tupac Amaru Shakur says some of the same things you use to say to me. Again Thank you.

Steemit community members, and friends The image I used is from codepen.io and the song is by Tupac Shakur - Everyday Struggle (Hold On Be Strong) . For those of you who can relate to any of this in one way or another I WISH YOU the best and remember Keep your head, stick your chest out and handle it. To those kids who have no father I got love for you no matter where your from or what color you are, and for people that can't understand and allow differences to stand in their way of seeing things I wish you the best, but just know thinking like that will come back to haunt you. Let me stand here as living proof that we do make our own destiny. Have a good one everybody.

Sort:  

This was full of emotions and I know he'd be proud of the man you have become today . When we fight battles , that's how we become strong . He's watching down on you everyday , always smile and keep going for him .

I really appreciate the reply, as I always do I hope you know that

Of course , always wishing the best for you !!

@journeyoflife
thats correct... very on point in your comment dear... quite an emotional peice..

Well written, thoughtful and emotional piece. Your readers can tell your love for your grandfather is emense.

This really got my mind going... about people I've lost, about the love ones still here and how valuable time really is. The most precious commodity, of which, there is no way to acquire more. Thanks fam.

@sixersfeds your reply was great. Thank you i hope to get the chance to talk to you more.

Very well written post. It is great that you still hold on to such great memories and pass on his teachings to your children. I heard a quote once that I really liked, I am not sure where it came from but it is something like this: You die twice. The second is when the last person who remembers you dies.
So keep on remembering and keep on telling his stories to your kids (and your fellow steemians)!

Darryl (@dadview)

wow...nice narrative..very touching...losing someone is not easy as i lost my dad recently... your grandpa is a great man and smiling down at you from heaven..for what you have become... keep doing great things...

Thanks a lot. Seriously

welcome dear.. and hey...life is worth living.....lets move on buddy! find time to check my blog posts and my mile stone posts of yesterday
thanks

This is ful emotionsl story of your life...
Loosing someone is not easy as I lost my friend pass month... he is unforgetable great man in my life..and I always respect to him..
I think Your grandpa is a great man and smiling down at you from heaven....
We always try remember our relations and loving friends...bcz...their very important to our life...
Wel done my dear friend @carterx7
Nice story...wel written skill...perfect post...
Upvoted and resteemed...
Cheers!...

Very Emotional and painful story of your life,Its all for your grandfather that you still miss and love him.

I appreciate the comment, I really do.

Thank you for sharing this with us. I donated a randowhale vote to you

First of all thanks for sharing your story with all of us after reading this i am really inspired by you the work you have put in is really great the dedication you have shown is on another level many don't even achieve that i will not take your long time but still want to say Thanks you so much once again you are amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74