15 Uplifting Quotes To Kick Off Your 2018

in #life7 years ago (edited)

At the start of a new year, I love to reflect on and revisit my favorite quotes from people who inspire me. I often find them jotted down in old notebooks or saved on my computer, and it's always a joy to print a select few out and post them in places I'll see in the months to come. I hope you enjoy these - let me know which ones resonate with you the most!

"To make mistakes is human; to stumble is commonplace; to be able to laugh at yourself is maturity."
~~William Arthur Ward

"Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen."
~~Ralph Waldo Emerson

"Be like a duck. Calm on the surface, but always paddling like the dickens underneath."
~~Michael Caine

"Maturity includes the recognition that no one is going to see anything in us that we don't see in ourselves. Stop waiting for a producer. Produce yourself."
~~Marianne Williamson

"A wonderful thing about true laughter is that it just destroys any kind of system dividing people."
~~John Cleese

"You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough."
~~Mae West

"It’s not all bad. Heightened self-consciousness, apartness, an inability to join in, physical shame and self-loathing—they are not all bad. Those devils have been my angels. Without them I would never have disappeared into language, literature, the mind, laughter and all the mad intensities that made and unmade me."
~~Stephen Fry

"Let yourself be silently drawn by the stronger pull of what you really love."
~~Rumi

"Worrying is like praying for what you don't want to happen. I have such an overwhelming sense that if you're in the right state of heart, the next right thing appears for you."
~~Robert Downey Jr.

"At dawn, when you have trouble getting out of bed, tell yourself: 'I have to go to work - as a human being. What do I have to complain of, if I'm going to do what I was born for - the things I was brought into the world to do? Or is THIS what I was created for? To huddle under the blankets and stay warm?"
~~Marcus Aurelius

“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”
“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”
“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet.
Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.”
~ A.A. Milne

"Listen. Smile. Agree. Then do whatever the fuck you were gonna do anyway."
~~Robert Downey Jr.

"It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them."
~~Ralph Waldo Emerson

"Our ambition should be to rule ourselves, the true kingdom for each one of us; and true progress is to know more, and be more, and to do more."
~~Oscar Wilde

"Love, and do what you like."
~~St. Augustine

<3

Sort:  

Stephen Fry is both a wise man and a wise guy at the same time :)

Haha indeed he is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66