What's "Dejá Vú" - Why It Occurs?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemers, this time I want to talk about a very interesting topic about something that has caught my attention all my life, because since I was little I have experienced several episodes where in some situation I have "felt" that what I am seeing and perceiving I have already Lived before.

Have you ever visited a place for the first time and felt strangely familiar? Or maybe, you've had a conversation with a friend and suddenly you get the feeling that you've had the exact conversation before, even though you know it's not like that.


This phenomenon that has troubled scientists for years has the name of "DEJÁ VÚ", but what is this phenomenon? What is it about and where does it come from?


The word Déjà Vú is a French term that literally means "already seen" and has several variations, including "vécu vú", already experienced; "I already felt", already thought; And "visité vú", already visited. The French scientist Emile Boirac, was one of the first to study this strange phenomenon, and gave its name in 1876.

This phenomenon occurs occasionally in 60-80% of the world's people. It is an experience that is almost always fleeting and occurs at random. Researchers have their own definitions, but usually deja vú is described as the feeling that you have seen or experienced something earlier when you know it is not so. The most common use of the term dejà vú seems to be related to premonitory experiences - experiences in which a person has the feeling that they know exactly what is going to happen next.



The branch of Parapsychology that studies extrasensory phenomena, we see a theory that tells us that the phenomenon is associated with Pre Conviction, clairvoyance or extrasensory perceptions, and are frequently related to psychic abilities of people in general.

Y Attributes the experience to the premonitory visions and the experience of a previous life. One relevant difference is that dejà vú is experienced during an event, not before.

In the scientific field, several theories that associate it with a failure in the temporal lobe and hippocampus of the human brain, where long-term memory retention occurs, events and events are stored in the temporal lobes, and specific areas of the Temporal lobe are also integral to the detection of familiarity, and recognition of certain events.



This correlation has led some researchers to speculate that the déjà vú experience is possibly a neurological anomaly related to incorrect electrical discharge in the brain, specifically in the temporal lobe, creating a strong sensation of an event or experience that is currently experienced Has been experienced in the past, resulting in a strange sense of familiarity.

Another interesting theory about Dejà Vú is linked to the memory of dreams, although most dreams can not be remembered, a person who is deeply asleep can present a great display of activity in areas related to the long-term memory process. Speculates that dreams read directly from long-term memory, influencing the short-term memory, in this case, the Deja Vú could be a memory of forgotten dreams, with elements common to the experience that is lived in the dream state.


Deja Vu also manifests with some frequency in important psychiatric disorders, including anxiety, depression, device disorders and schizophrenia.


One version of this phenomenon is related more to fiction than to something else, such as what we saw in the movie Matrix, in which they relate Deja Vú to the failure of a higher system that controls human reality.



Particularly I have experienced many times this sensation, the most significant that marked my interest in this phenomenon was many years ago, in my hometown, I was sitting at the door of my mother's house, waiting for some friends to go and play Basketball, at that moment at the other end of the street was walking a gentleman with a hat, I immediately feel the feeling that what was happening had already lived; At that moment I made an effort in my mind to remember that it would happen later and without explanation, cross my mind that an orange car was passing by the corner of the street, and it happened - it was incredible something for a moment Spontaneous form could know the future and what was going to happen.


This experience left me hallucinating about the mysteries of the human mind and left in me a deep curiosity on the subject. It's something I'll never forget.

Definitely, although Dejá Vú has been studied as a phenomenon for many years, and researchers have expressed many theories about its cause, there is no simple explanation for what it means or why it happens. As technology advances and we learn more about how the brain works, we will also learn more about why we experience this strange phenomenon.



Source Image


Sort:  

I believe you would benefit from Carl Jung. Synchronicity is what comes to mind. I have experienced "deja vu" as long as I can remember. Also, shadow ppl and animals. I researched it a little, found no real value in the research, so now I just deal with it. It occurs a little less often now, that it no longer is prevelant to me. Thankfully honestly. It was becoming bothersome. Nevertheless, good read. Have a good one:)

Thank a Lot my friend. It happens to me very often, I think it is because we associate with dreams, the human mind is always looking for patterns and could link them to ciertas situations and that is why we feel they are familiar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64866.50
ETH 2555.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65