You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going To A Football Game Is Exhausting

in #life6 years ago

Go Ducks! My wife and I went to quite a few games when we were students at the UO. The student section is ridiculous. Just absolutely as drunk as you can possibly get... before even showing up LOL. I know a few families with season tickets who sometimes ask me if I want to go to a game if someone isn't going to be around on gameday, so I have been to a few games recently but not any so far this season. Stanford is going to be a lot tougher. I am more than a little worried about the war in the trenches - I have a bad feeling that Stanford is going to out physical us on both the offensive and defensive lines. Herbert is looking good though!

Sort:  

Go Ducks!

I think that's where we were last time. They didn't have the bigger screen yet, and I remember looking over my shoulder at the smaller one each time a play was run. :)

We had some friends from Utah (and this was before the Utes joined and helped expand to the Pac-12), and they were hassled, some goodnaturedly, some not, the whole game. Of course, those folks were drunk, too. This was long before the rivalry heated up.

Stanford is looking tough again. I like the fact that everyone for the Ducks has beefed up, though. I understand they worked in the offseason to add weight. Will it be enough? I hope so, but the receivers can't afford to drop the first long ball strike for touchdown they get like they did against all three of their first opponents.

I was telling my younger son that they need to contain Love—an ongoing rush for both rush and pass would be nice—and then maybe pass to run to start, since their running game hasn't been so great looking to start (Brooks-James has been off, and it hasn't helped that they've been giving all six backs a look, though I understand they're paring that down).

The defense has looked better, though, I really like Leavitt, and I think Cristobal has the pedigree to turn the Duck program around. Whether he manages it or not, we'll see.

Guess I shouldn't have complained so much about going to the game. :)

It was really quite something how we managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory last night :(

Hey, @carlgnash.

I don't think I've ever seen a reversal of fortune quite like that. The Ducks have been in games where I've seen something similar happen, but it was something the other team did to spark it. Ducks vs. Utah a few years ago where the Ute drops the ball before crossing the goal line and our guy scoops and scores a 100-yard TD. Totally changed the game. Similar thing happened against TCU in the Alamo Bowl a couple of years ago, where TCU came back down 31-0. It was totally different halves. In that case, the Duck QB got hurt, I think.

This one, though, the Ducks apparently scored a touchdown, but then it wasn't, and then it just went downhill. Center couldn't snap the ball anymore. Stanford offense suddenly could move at will.

It just got worse. I'm not a believer in fate or destiny, but were there ever a reason to start believing, that game is it.

I'm convinced the Ducks can win any game they play from now on, including against Washington, if they can avoid kicking pylons on their way into the endzone. SMH. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87