You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Desire That Turns Into Wish, Becoming a Programmer

in #life8 years ago

If I were still in college age now, I would be happily enrolled in IT courses.
IT students now perhaps would be more appreciative on the many relatively mature, usable technologies that they can use as school projects. It would be a lot of fun & learning.
However, as you said, with our current educational system, fun & learning are somehow aliens in the classroom. Passing grades & eventual certificate are what all that generally matter from a students' mindset, which teachers also helped/forced to inculcate thru 4 yrs or more.
As for me, I too am happily studying web development at my spare time (javascript, angularjs, etc), to be used for my future personal business projects. It is rather slow process of learning since I am from Architecture field.
I am studying not so that I am shifting career to be star programmer, but for me to launch online businesses with fellow OFWs.
Perhaps, you may reconsider also the reasons behind your interests in programming. Do u eventually want it to be a career, such that certificates would be needed? or maybe also u have business ideas, such that self-study is the best way to fulfill it?
Thanks for your post, it gives me new perspectives on IT students' predicaments even today.

Sort:  

I wanted to engage in programming just for personal use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60